Herbalife 2017 Reviews

Herbalife Shakes Reviews

  • Protein Quality : 10/10
  • Appetite Suppressant : 5.8/10
  • Taste : 7.9/10
  • Value : 10.0/10

Overall Rating

8.4

  • Cal 90
  • Protein 9g
  • Fiber 3g
  • Carb 13g
  • Sugar 9g
  • Pros:

    Low in calories, price, Allergen-free, popular following

  • Cons:

    High level of sugar, low level of protein, soy protein, fructose

  •  
    User's Rating
    3.5/5

Summary :

Herbalife Formula 1 Shake Review


The Formula 1 Shake is a popular meal replacement shake from the company Herbalife. While the driving purpose behind the shake isn’t expressly weight loss, it does come with the promise of helping you maintain weight by providing you with a “healthy meal” full of vitamins, minerals, protein, and fiber. So is this shake all it’s cracked up to be? Let’s dig a little deeper.

 

Formula 1 Shake Nutritional Facts


Before you look over the nutrition information, note that the ingredient list has over 40 items on it. As we’ve mentioned before, this is neither good nor bad, although it certainly can be an indication there are some suspicious ingredients lurking in there. At best, though, it makes things complicated for you trying to figure out what’s actually in the shake or not. Information is based on a serving size of two scoops, and suggested serving is to blend the powder with 8 ounces of water or milk. Using milk or adding the powder to a fruit smoothie would definitely up the calorie count.

Calories

At only 90 calories per serving, this shake has definite diet potential. Because the powder itself is so low, you can add the powder to milk or a fruit shake without drastically increasing your calories too much, making this a very viable diet meal replacement option.

Notable Ingredients

Formula 1’s primary “claim to fame,” nutritionally speaking, is being certified gluten free. However, for those with allergy concerns, the shake does contain milk (in the form of casein as the ninth ingredient) and soy (the first ingredient listed).

Other noteworthy ingredients are inulin, a prebiotic that’s essentially food for probiotics, the microorganisms that aid in digestion. Another ingredient is aminogen, an enzyme complex created by Triacaro Industries to aid in the digestion of protein. The overall effect is better digestion, although the necessity of including aminogen is questionable since most people have no problem digesting protein without help.

Controversial Ingredients

Formula 1’s protein source is soy (see below for more details). While soy does offer high amounts of plant-based protein (making it popular among vegetarians and vegans!) there is a tremendous amount of controversy over this widely used protein source. Recent research has linked soy with undesirable health issues such as stunted growth, infertility, introducing toxicity to the nervous system and kidneys, and increasing the risk of breast cancer in women. One of the main concerns with soy is the presence of isoflavens, which behave like estrogen hormones once in our bodies[i]. Additionally, soy contains substances that inhibit the body’s ability to absorb important minerals (like calcium, zinc, and magnesium)[ii]. Perhaps one of the worst facts about soy, though, is the fact that 99% of soy is genetically modified[iii]. While Herbalife does offer a non-GM option, the implication is all the other flavors do contain genetically modified soy.

 

Protein Sources (Core Engine)


Formula 1 Shake contains 9 grams of protein per serving, which compared to other meal replacement shakes is a little on the low side. In fact, while Herbalife did three clinical studies to determine Formula 1’s effectiveness in weight loss, all of those studies increased the amount of protein in the shake to see results. The company sells a separate protein powder that could solve this issue, but on its own, Formula 1 lacks this key macronutrient.

The protein source is solely from soy protein isolate. The company gives no indication as to how the soy is sourced and whether it is non-GMO. The use of soy also eliminates Formula 1 as an option for many people due to allergies. However, it’s important to note that Herbalife offers an “Alternative Proteins” version of their shake containing pea, sesame, and rice proteins. Nutritionally, this version still has 9 grams of protein, with the only other significant difference being an extra 10 calories, but almost double the sodium of the regular vanilla shake.

 

Fiber Sources


Getting enough fiber while you’re on a diet is important. It keeps you full and helps regulate digestion. Formula 1 offers 3 grams of fiber, which, similar to its protein content, is a bit on the low side compared with other meal replacement shakes available.

 

What Are the Sweeteners?


How a meal replacement shake is sweetened is one of the make-or-break health differentiators. Options like stevia and monk fruit don’t spike blood sugar and are no-calorie. But this particular shake uses (drumroll, please): fructose. And it’s listed as the second ingredient on the list! We’ve all heard the dangers of High Fructose Corn Syrup (HFCS). But did you know HFCS isn’t pure fructose? It’s a combination of fructose and glucose. Fructose by itself is sweeter than HFCS and has been linked to raising blood pressure, causing insulin resistance and Type 2 Diabetes, and promoting obesity to name a few[iv]. Another negative impact fructose has is not satisfying your hunger, often to more cravings[v]. Ultimately, all these bad risks are working against the ultimate goal of the shake: to help people lose weight and eat healthier. This leaves us wondering why Herbalife chose fructose as the sweetener for their shake.

 

Who’s Behind Formula 1 Shake?


The company making Formula 1 diet shakes is Herbalife, a multi-level-marketing business out of California. They’ve been around since the 1980’s, and have a good standing on the Better Business Association. Their products focus on nutrition, weight-management, energy and fitness, and personal care.

 

Side Effects


Aside from the issues mentioned before relating to the soy and fructose ingredients, there don’t seem to be any other concerning side effects known. Soy has been known to reduce thyroid hormone levels, which could be unhealthy for people with hypothyrodism. If you’ve been diagnosed with a thyroid condition, it would be wise to follow up with your doctor a month or so after you start using Formula 1 to make sure it isn’t adversely affecting you.

 

How to Contact


The best way to try getting in touch with the company seems to be through their online Support Center, which you can access by clicking here. An online support form and an option to call plus a fairly extensive online FAQ should provide answers to most of your questions.

While they make it difficult to track down, Herbalife does have a physical address listed at: 800 West Olympic Blvd., Suite 406, Los Angeles, CA 90015.

 

Does it Work?


Using Formula 1 to replace one or two meals a day is likely to result in weight loss, if only because of a decrease in your daily calorie intake. With 13 flavor options (including Pumpkin Spice, Wild Berry, and Kosher and non-GM options), it’s easy to see how this shake would be versatile and delicious. However, there’s nothing uniquely special about Formula 1’s composition that lends itself particularly to weight loss. On top of that, the lower total amount of protein will make it harder for the diet shakes to keep you full between meals. Additionally, the use of fructose as a sweetener puts this shake more in the category of “dessert” than meal replacement. While it’s not the worst option available, you could find a better, more well-balanced shake that’s higher in protein and offers.

Sources:

[i] http://www.livestrong.com/article/249173-what-are-the-dangers-of-soy-protein/

[ii] http://thedeliciousrevolution.com/cleanse/why-avoid-soy/

[iii] http://thedeliciousrevolution.com/cleanse/why-avoid-soy/

[iv] http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2010/01/02/highfructose-corn-syrup-alters-human-metabolism.aspx

[v] http://authoritynutrition.com/why-is-fructose-bad-for-you/

 

Protein quality : 10/10

9 grams of protein per serving, soy protein

Appetite Suppressant : 5.8/10

3 grams of fiber per serving

Taste : 7.9/10

Good

Value : 10.0/10

$35.00 for 30-day supply or $1.17 per shake

Herbalife Shakes Reviews July 20, 2016 rated 3.5 of 5
Get It At The Lowest Price Buy Now »

Average User Rating:

16 user reviews

Rating Breakdown:

5 Star
7
4 Star
2
3 Star
2
2 Star
2
1 Star
2

WRITE YOUR Comments

Click stars below to rate.
Rating

READ Comments

  • Colleen July 20th, 2016

    I\’ve been taking this shake for weight loss, blending it with a banana. I find I\’m not hungry till after 2pm when I then take another shake. It tastes great, especially the Choc Mint, and now if I have a \”normal\” breakfast, I\’m hungry within a couple of hours.

    Rating
    Reply
    • Dj October 20th, 2016

      Iam finding after two and half months of taking the shakes and vitamins that my teeth began hurting reay bad to where I couldn\’t even eat an apple because it stung my teeth and the pain was too much. I reported this to my Herbal life advisor who then got very defensive and advised to stay on it but to get it checked out. So i quit the shakes a week ago and now my teeth are barley feeling normal again. I don\’t plan on buying anymore.

      Rating
      Reply
  • C!´C!´ March 7th, 2016

    I\’VE BEEN DOING THE DIET HERBALIFE PROGRAM A FEW MONTHS. IM NOT VERY HAPPY WITH IT !! I GIVE IT A NO STAR ! THEY ARE VERY DEMANDING AN
    PUSHY TO SELL THEIR SH!T. A FEW DAYS AFTER STARTING THEIR 15+ SUPPLEMENTS, MY FACE BROKE OUT, IT FELT LIKE DRAGGING YOUR HAND ACROSS YOUR LIVING ROOM CARPET ! A FEW DAYS AGO I THREW THEM ALL AWAY AN YOU CAN SEE A REAL NOTICEABLE DIFFERENCE FOR THE BETTER !!!! THE TEA, & THE FIBER FORMULA\’S MADE ME SICK & DIZZY & MADE ME THROW UP,I STOPPED THOSE ! THE MEAL SHAKES MAKE ME HUNGARY THAN FILLING !
    THE 50 POUNDS I LOST IS CAUSE IM OUT OF MY WHEELCHAIR AN ACTIVE ONCE AGAIN, I EAT A 500-700 CALORIE ONCE A DAY AND ABSOLUTELY NO BAD/JUNK FOOD !!! AND DO MY TREADMILL 30+ MINTES TWICE A DAY. IM LOOSING UP TO 5 POUNDS AWEEK. I
    GOING TO FINSH THE $200.00 IN MEAL SHAKES &
    BE DONE WITH IT ! GOOD LUCK YOU\’LL BE NEEDING IT !

    Rating
    Reply
    • Sammy May 19th, 2016

      You’re pretty much starving yourself if you’re only eating 500-700 calories a day and working out that much. You should for real up your calories to at bare minimum 1200 calories a day, definitely talk to your doctor about it so you stay healthy! If you look up your TDEE it’ll also give you a great estimate to how much you should be eating a day. 🙂

      Reply
    • Becca June 14th, 2016

      I have to be honest, I was very skeptical of this product. I work evening shift and my intake in the morning isn\’t very good so I only consume my Herbalife shake mid morning when I wake up and I really like it. I use almond milk and sometimes PB2 powder. Overall this is a great shake but I don\’t see how people could use this as a strict meal replacement… Eat healthy meals and snacks that contain natural proteins, overall it\’s better for your body to eat real food.

      Rating
      Reply
  • Brenda Lee Legault February 15th, 2016

    I started taking Herbalife and was so impressed, with it that I became a distributor. I lost 20lbs and my husband lost 32lbs, thanks to Herbalife products! Herbalife changed my life! I have have a great amount of energy now and feel years younger!

    Rating
    Reply
  • Michelle H. December 11th, 2015

    I’ve always been told that people lose weight indeed, but gain a lot more or easily after they quit this diet. I presume it’s not the best diet, but that it’s a for-profit organisation.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Michelle H. December 11th, 2015

    I’ve always been told that people lose weight indeed, but after they quit Herbalife, you gain weight easily again or even more. I presume it’s not the best diet, but only a for-profit corporation.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Deanna November 29th, 2015

    ugh I just wasted 2 scoops of pdm. I have a bunch of shake powder from melaleuca. tried to use the vanilla M since I\’m out of formula 1 vanilla. ugh. I just couldn\’t do it. tasted so phony.
    I love herbalife

    Rating
    Reply
  • Gwen Lerman June 2nd, 2014

    This is the best I have been using it for years to maintain my weight and it’s so great! It keeps me full and not crash after a few hours! I use it Monday through Fridays in the morning and I maintain my food intake with healthy choices!!

    Rating
    Reply
  • dawn pavtis June 2nd, 2014

    This system really works well with weight loss but the shakes make me so nauseous. I gave up trying to drink them. I think I have an allergic reaction to some of the proteins or something in this shake.

    Rating
    Reply
    • Crystal June 9th, 2016

      Hi! If u think it was the protein try our Alternitive shake that uses pea proteins and rice protein 🙂

      Rating
      Reply
  • quagmire June 2nd, 2014

    don’t like the taste. wouldn’t recommend this.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Kimberly Benson June 2nd, 2014

    This is great and has tons of protein and it fills you up and doesn’t make you gassy like some other products do!

    Rating
    Reply
  • Jana Perksie June 2nd, 2014

    Herbalife is great to mix with fruits, decaf coffee, pudding mix, whatever you want. I make mine with almond milk and it’s so good!

    Rating
    Reply
  • nilz June 2nd, 2014

    I just started using this and it’s great! I made it with light soy milk and peanut butter and ice and it was great.

    Rating
    Reply
Top 3 Meal Replacement Shakes
2 Shakeology Shakes

Shakeology Shakes

3 Evolv Shakes Reviews

Evolv Shakes Reviews

Must Reads
How will meal replacement shakes help you with your weight loss?
read
How Long Should I Be Using Meal Replacement Shakes?
read
Excellent habits that healthy people have
read