Isagenix Isalean Shake 2017 Reviews

Isagenix Isalean Shakes Reviews

  • Protein Quality : 8.9/10
  • Appetite Suppressant : 7.9/10
  • Taste : 9.0/10
  • Value : 6.0/10

Overall Rating

8.0

  • Cal 240
  • Protein 24g
  • Fiber 8g
  • Carb 24g
  • Sugar 11g
  • Pros:

    High level of protein, high level of vitamins and nutrients, taste

  • Cons:

    High level of sugar, high calorie level, price

  •  
    User's Rating
    4.3/5

Summary :

IsaLean Review


It claims to be clinically proven to “support healthy weight loss and lean muscle growth.”[i] Backed by a company with a reputation for creating healthy and nutritional supplements, it’s easy to want to believe everything they have to say about their meal replacement shake. However, before jumping on the bandwagon we always recommend digging deeper into the details of a diet shake. Marketing claims in reality aren’t always what they seem to be on paper. This critical review of the IsaGenix IsaLean meal replacement shake will help you cut through the hype and get to the truth about the nutrition of this product.

 

IsaLean Nutritional Facts


The first thing we noticed about IsaLean is the serving size. It comes either individually packaged in single-serving packets that weigh 60 grams, or in a container. This is almost double the serving size of most meal replacement shakes, which are usually around 28 grams (1 ounce) each serving (give or take a little). This isn’t a good or bad thing necessarily, it just means there’s more powder you’ll be mixing or blending in with your desired base.

Calories

IsaLean comes in at 240 calories per serving. This calorie count is much higher than most other meal replacement shakes, which tend to range around 100 calories per serving. It’s common for meal replacement shake advocates to blend their favorite formula with either milk or fruit to create a tasty smoothie. This is a great strategy, especially when you’re using healthy fruits and greens in your smoothie, but it does increase the calorie count of the shake. With the IsaLean shake, you would definitely want to only blend it with water to avoid adding any more calories.

All in all, the high calorie count isn’t necessarily a horrible thing; 240 calories is much closer to a normal “meal” calorie count. However, when you’re trying to lose weight, it makes sense to lower the overall amount of calories you eat.

Claims

IsaLean diet shake comes with several notable claims. First, the product is stated to be soy free and gluten free. However, neither of those claims are backed by official certification. Looking through the ingredient list, we see no reason to disbelieve the claims, but it’s important to note they have not been verified by a credible outside source.

Isagenix also proudly touts that the shake is low-glycemic. Foods low on the glycemic index take more energy to digest than foods high on the glycemic index. The theory goes that by eating foods lower on the glycemic index we cause our body to expend more energy digesting, thus boosting our metabolism and supporting weight loss. The literature available on Isagenix’s website doesn’t communicate what makes the shake low-glycemic, and they spend little time explaining why that feature is beneficial.

A final claim Isagenix proudly makes is that their protein is “Cheerful Cow Certified”. On further research, this official looking label isn’t used anywhere except on Isagenix products. Essentially, the company is trying to communicate they use dairy from cows that haven’t been treated with hormones or antibiotics. But similar to the soy- and gluten-free claims, this claim isn’t backed by anyone official either. All of their verbiage on the subject is also careful to never use the words “grass-fed” when describing the cows, either.

Controversial Ingredients

The first controversial ingredient that stands out is fructose. This form of sugar (also used in Herbalife’s Formula 1 shake) is not a healthy sweetener. We’ll go into more detail about that below.

The “natural flavors” ingredient is also troublesome. The difference between flavorings listed as “natural” and “artificial” is negligible, and the line between the two is not closely regulated. This makes it easy for companies to list trace molecules as “natural” when they’ve actually been highly processed. In other words, “natural flavors” in your strawberry yogurt doesn’t equal pureed strawberries. It probably means a small chemical from a strawberry has been removed, enhanced, and then added into your food. This isn’t necessarily what’s going on with IsaLean’s shake, but it’s such a grey area with so little official regulation that it’s a yellow flag.

 

Protein Sources (Core Engine)


IsaLean uses Isagenix’s exclusive Myo-IsaLean Complex™ for protein, which is a combination of undenatured whey protein concentrate, undenatured milk protein concentrate, and low-heat nonfat dry milk. At its simplest, “denaturing” is a term implying the milk and whey have been altered. In the case of IsaLean, they are claiming the process used to create the powder is more careful using lower temperatures in order to preserve more of the original nutrition[ii]. For the lactose intolerant, Isagenix has created a berry-flavored non-dairy option using hemp and pea proteins.

 

Fiber Sources


One of IsaLean’s unique features is its high fiber content. At 8 grams per serving, it’s higher than many other meal replacement shakes. Most other shakes have closer to 5 grams of fiber. This is good news, because fiber does a lot to help keep you feeling full for a longer time after eating.

Fiber is a carbohydrate the body can’t easily digest which means it doesn’t cause blood sugar to rise. Fiber fills your stomach, which then sends signals to your brain that you’re full. Another beneficial aspect of fiber is that it keeps digestion moving properly. Since most Americans don’t get enough fiber, (women need about 25 grams a day and men 38 grams[iii]), having this increased amount is a definite plus.

 

What Are the Sweeteners?


Pure fructose occurs naturally in plants (namely fruit), and table sugar is a combination of 50% fructose and 50% glucose[iv]. The problem with fructose is how our body metabolizes it. The only organ in our body that can handle fructose is the liver, and when we eat too many calories and too much fructose, the liver responds by turning the excess fructose into fat[v]. When we eat fructose straight from the source (raw fruits and vegetables), it isn’t bad for us; it’s when fructose is used as an added sugar (like it is in the IsaLean shake) that it becomes harmful.

 

Who’s Behind IsaLean?


IsaLean is made by Isagenix, a multi-level marketing company that’s been around since 2002 and has become an international company. The company heavily emphasizes health and using their products to become free from pain.

 

Side Effects


Fructose is bad news when it comes to health, as it’s known to increase fat around the organs, heart disease, liver disease, insulin resistance, and high blood pressure[vi]. Fructose doesn’t impact your body’s satiety signals as much as other foods, making you feel hungrier and thereby eat more calories.

While the high fiber content is a good thing, since most American diets don’t incorporate enough fiber, a significant increase could cause constipation at first as your body adjusts. To prevent this, be sure to drink lots of water along with your shake and throughout the rest of the day.

 

How to Contact


The Isagenix website’s Contact page[vii] seems to make it easy to contact the company. An address is listed as 2225 S. Price Road, Chandler, Arizona 85286. Customer Care by phone is available Monday-Friday 6am-7pm and Saturday 6am-2:30pm at 1-877-877-8111. Emails can be sent to support@isagenixcorp.com or returns@isagenixcorp.com. The page also features a Live Chat option available Monday-Sunday from 8am-10pm.

 

Does it Work?


The IsaLean shake is a fairly solid shake with fewer problematic ingredients than other comparable options. However, in order to lose weight most effectively, it’s suggested users follow the Isagenix program. This program calls for replacing meals with the shake, eating fewer calories and healthy meals, and also doing “cleanse days” when calories are further restricted while taking a variety of Isagenix supplements. There is some evidence the shakes work but if used alone, there doesn’t seem to be any compelling evidence that makes the IsaLean shake work any “better” than other healthy protein shakes out there.

Sources:

[i] http://www.isagenix.com/en-US/products/categories/individual-items/isalean-shake

[ii] http://www.isagenix.com/~/media/product-misc/comparison-whey-protein/us-en-product-misc-comparison-whey

[iii] http://www.webmd.com/diet/fiber-weight-control

[iv] http://advances.nutrition.org/content/4/2/236.full

[v] http://authoritynutrition.com/why-is-fructose-bad-for-you/

[vi] http://authoritynutrition.com/why-is-fructose-bad-for-you/

[vii] http://www.isagenix.com/en-US/network-marketing-company/contact-us

[viii] http://www.isagenix.com/en-US/faq/faq-returns-and-replacements/faq-what-is-your-return-policy

 

Protein quality : 8.9/10

24 grams of protein per serving, whey and milk protein

Appetite Suppressant : 7.9/10

8 grams of fiber per serving

Taste : 9.0/10

Good

Value : 6.0/10

$56.00 for a 2-week supply or $3.80 per shake

Isagenix Isalean Shakes Reviews July 31, 2017 rated 4.3 of 5
Get It At The Lowest Price Buy Now »

Average User Rating:

29 user reviews

Rating Breakdown:

5 Star
10
4 Star
3
3 Star
3
2 Star
0
1 Star
0

WRITE YOUR Comments

Click stars below to rate.
Rating

READ Comments

  • Annette July 31st, 2017

    I see a lot of people like the taste. I am just starting and I have tried just the chocolate and now half and half with vanilla and chocolate but still, to me, has a bad taste. Do you just get use to it?

    Reply
  • Jack June 9th, 2017

    This is the worst review ever. Very misleading. First of all I am an Isagenix consultant. Let’s get that out of the way. The cost you quote is retail. The product is very seldom sold that way. The shake is one specific part of an entire program that when followed has very very solid science behind it’s effectiveness. They use a combination of Vitamins, Shakes, and Cleanse along with healthy food and snacks to get results. Combined with a program that is built on the concepts of protein pacing, this system is by far superior to using a 100 calorie shake that cannot even truly be called a meal replacement. The shakes are formulated purposely to have 40% Carbs, 30% protein and 30% Healthy Fats and 240 calories. This is a true meal replacement. The sugar is from beets so it is not harmful especially with the higher fiber. And the Whey is from New Zealand where laws prohibit antibiotics and feed with pesticides. That means it can be un-denatured protein which is 80% bio available vs around 20% -40% for denatured whey from the US. Denaturing process requires boiling and kills off the effectiveness of the whey. Don’t believe this other garbage in these reviews.

    Reply
  • Rachel March 10th, 2017

    The calories are high because it is a legit meal replacement shake. Isagenix has given me REAL results and has changed my health and my life. I do not sell Isagenix. I am just someone who uses the products, have had real results and will be using them for the rest of my life.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Kathleen Ellertson January 30th, 2017

    My husband and I have been using these Shakes for 8 years with STELLAR results. We have tried others, but none of the others can beat the taste OR the long term results for us!!! They even have YUMMY NON-DAIRY shakes for those who are sensitive to milk or have chosen the VEGAN lifestyle!

    Reply
  • TAMMY November 18th, 2016

    If it has 24 grams of protein that is double what the other shakes have. I could add extra fruit or other ingredients to make a great shake.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Jo-El Buerlen August 24th, 2016

    I fully recoomend this product. I struggled for years to lose weight, tried just about everything out there…this is the nutritional jolt that my body needed. Easy program to follow, the protein tastes fantstic, the cleansing system is gentle! I lost 44.5 lbs and a total of 80 inches on this system, hands down the best I’ve tried and I continue to use it for the energy it provides me every day.

    Reply
  • Patsy August 20th, 2016

    I would never EVER judge a product by its price. It is like comparing a Ford Focus with Jaguar. When I met the lady who had lost 400 lbs I saw something that could help people instead of surgery. 30 day diet is the best way to go. 30 days of all you need. I prefer it with crushed ice. The seasonal shakes are amazing. And now it is being launched in the UK

    Rating
    Reply
  • susie August 1st, 2016

    I started taking Isagenix and had a sizure but did not think it had anything to do with it but could not get any info from anyone on the internet groups they have , every time i would post they would del eat them. have found this to be true with other people too. they have such great reviews because they remove the negative. then i kept using the product and had gotten real bad diareaha and then i ended up having surgery removed part of my intestine, bowl and colin, still having issues was in the hospital again 6 times in 6 months all started after starting this product. I hope to get some answers. Please help if you have had any of these issues.

    Reply
    • For Susie August 20th, 2016

      That is a serious thing to say Susie. Maybe you were lactose intolerant, had an obstructive disorder. I was just at the hospital yesterday and read about a similar medical issue. The woman had robotic surgery to fix the problem. It had NOTHING to do with her diet. Talk to your Doctor about bowel disorders, you may have the same problem as this woman did and it took months to find out. It was an obstructive disorder, had a long name. There is also Colitis and Chrohn’s which you probably are aware of now. Hope you get better and know that the product could never have done this. Ask your Doctor for proof

      Rating
      Reply
    • Deb Simpson August 20th, 2016

      It is always advisable to check with your physician before starting any kind of weight loss program. It is entirely possible that you had some health issues prior to starting on the Isagenix products but maybe were unaware of them. It could just be coincidence that your intestinal problems began at the same time as you were using the products. Perhaps you are lactose intolerant? Another possibility could be Crohn’s Disease which can cause real havoc on one’s intestinal tract and cause them to have repeated hospitalization and surgeries.

      Rating
      Reply
  • josh June 22nd, 2016

    how can a con be the calorie content. It is a meal replacement! You need those calories so you stick to the diet!

    Reply
  • Donna A. June 7th, 2016

    I’ve been doing the Isagenix program for 2 months and have lost 15lbs so far. I would have lost more but had a couple of cheat weekends. This is an easy program to do, however – it isn’t cheap. I do find that I’m spending less money at the supermarket though because I’m enjoying the shakes for 2 meals each day (except for cleansing days).

    Rating
    Reply
  • Michelle June 2nd, 2016

    Ive been on these shakes for about 6 months. There is NO need to add anything like milk, PB or oats like you’re suggesting…for any reason. First of all, its not necessary because it has enough vitamins and minerals and ingredients to be considered a full meal and secondly because it does satiate so no extra cals there. If you think about JUST the cost, sure $50 may seem like a lot, but if youre spending that on food to eat twice a day, I cant imagine eating for $3 a meal and complaining. I think its a great deal! All in all, very satisfied with the price, taste and overall product! Its a winner in my book!

    Rating
    Reply
  • Maria Damis April 28th, 2016

    I love, love my Isagenix program!!! It’s been over 2 years and I’m still crazy about my shakes!! The taste is fantastic. I work in a health food cafe and am not a fan of our proteins. They are a bit chalky, but not Isagenix!!

    Reply
  • Jeannette April 25th, 2016

    I have tried many products out there, this is by far the best full replacement meal I have found. It really does work and does give you extra energy!! I love it!!

    Reply
  • Cathy April 22nd, 2016

    On this plan for 17 days and lost 13 pounds!

    Rating
    Reply
  • Carla Pfeiffer April 8th, 2016

    The amount of sugar is not high as suggested. There is the same amount of sugar in 1 apple. No one would ever tell you not to eat an apple because of it’s high sugar content..

    Reply
  • Jeff Karelius April 8th, 2016

    The formulator of the Isalean product before he came up with this was a private label formulator, and has over 2600 products for over 600 different health and wellness companies to his credit. I have tried just about every shake out there, and I’ve been on the Isalean shake for a few years now and will never switch. They definitely have great things to say about the shake, but the way they downgrade it here because of price is accurate and also inaccurate. The shake is $50 retail, but if you sign up for an account its 39.95 with no tax because it is rated as a food. Note that Just because you sign up for an account does not mean that you need to do the business, it just allows you to purchase it at wholesale. Also in order to be rated as a true meal replacement it must meet the minimum calorie content requirement which is 240 cal.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Jessica December 8th, 2015

    I love Isagenix shakes along with all their products! The shakes actually taste good! Yeah they might have more calories than others but im actually able to drink them. I lost 10lbs in the first 30 days. And I was still eating regular food and had cheat days on the weekends. Definitely worth trying!!

    Rating
    Reply
  • rose December 3rd, 2015

    hi , is it ok to take 2 brand of shakes alternate .ie., shakeology and isagenix

    Reply
  • Annette July 15th, 2015

    I have been on the shake for 3 months and lost 20 pounds, a lot my energy than I had before. I feel more healthier.

    Reply
    • MRS Staff September 14th, 2015

      Hi Annette, so glad to hear that Isagenix Isalean is working for you! 20 pounds in 3 months is a great accomplishment.

      Reply
  • Aimee D. June 1st, 2014

    It’s such a great powder, it’s just extremely expensive. Because of this I now use Labrada Lean. It’s almost half the price.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Denise wesner May 22nd, 2014

    Not sure if this works. I purchased it because it was recommended to me but I haven’t really see results. It might work for you, give it a try.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Desiree Daniels May 17th, 2014

    I have been using this for 8 months and have lost 30 lbs, my dad has lost 50 lbs. We are more healthy and energized. The shake are delicious. Great product.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Jay Garbarino May 13th, 2014

    This is one of the best shakes I’ve had. I can’t stand most protein powders, but this one tastes great. I blend with ice and water, sometimes add banana, and sometimes low cal vanilla yogurt. It holds my hunger and easy to grab and go.

    Rating
    Reply
  • John T. May 10th, 2014

    Tastes so much better in the blender. When you shake or stir it’s all chunky and doesn’t taste great. This product isn’t like a quick run-out-the-door solution. However it tastes great!

    Rating
    Reply
  • Penny Courtney May 5th, 2014

    I would recommend this to anyone trying to lose weight or maintain weight. It tastes good and I lost 10 lbs.

    Rating
    Reply
    • Maria Damis April 28th, 2016

      I love my shakes! It’s been over two years and I’m still loving my program. I work in a health cafe and have compared the taste of our proteins and I like Isagenix better.

      Reply
Top 3 Meal Replacement Shakes
2 Shakeology Shakes

Shakeology Shakes

3 Evolv Shakes Reviews

Evolv Shakes Reviews

Must Reads
How will meal replacement shakes help you with your weight loss?
read
How Long Should I Be Using Meal Replacement Shakes?
read
Excellent habits that healthy people have
read