Isagenix Isalean Shake 2016 Reviews

Isagenix Isalean Shake Reviews 2017

  • Protein Quality : 8.9/10
  • Appetite Suppressant : 7.9/10
  • Taste : 9.0/10
  • Value : 6.0/10

Overall Rating

8.0

  • Cal 240
  • Protein 24g
  • Fiber 8g
  • Carb 24g
  • Sugar 11g
  • Pros:

    High level of protein, high level of vitamins and nutrients, taste

  • Cons:

    High level of sugar, high calorie level, price

  •  
    User's Rating
    4.3/5

Summary :

Isagenix Isalean meal replacement shake is somewhat lesser known than others we’ve reviewed. That doesn’t speak to its quality or effectiveness, it just means chances are greater that consumers haven’t heard of it. Like the other drinks we’ve reviewed, we’ll base this on their Creamy French Vanilla flavor.

Isagenix Isalean uses what it calls an Exclusive Myo-Isalean Complex, which is a combination of whey protein concentrate, milk protein concentrate, and low-heat nonfat dry milk. One of the most important parts of any meal replacement shake is the protein type and content. Protein usually has the highest content in a meal replacement shake because it fills you up(1). This is why it’s important, not only for meal replacement shakes to have a high amount of protein, but for them to also have a nutritious type of protein.

Isagenix uses whey and milk proteins, which are great choices and much better than soy. Whey protein contains nine essential amino acids and is low in lactose content. Whey protein concentrate is different than other types of whey protein (isolate and hydrolysate). It’s low in fat and carbohydrates. But this drink contains a whopping 24 grams of protein. Anything in the 20 grams or over range always make us concerned because unless you’re an active person or building muscle, the excess protein may be converted over to and stored as fat.

Another important factor in the best meal replacement shakes on the market is the amount of fiber. This shake has 8 grams of fiber per serving, which is not only a good amount, it’s also a bit higher than many other meal replacement shakes out there. Fiber is digested slowly so it keeps you feeling fuller, longer(2). This combined with protein is essential in the top meal replacement shakes.

Another thing we look for in any meal replacement shake is a blend of appetite suppressing supplements. This shake doesn’t have anything like that, but very few do, so we can’t judge it too harshly. The level of protein and fiber it has makes up for any appetite suppressing complexes.

While this shake does contain stevia, which is one of our favorite sweeteners because it’s natural and low calorie, they also included fructose. This might not be an issue, except for how high up on the ingredient list fructose is, and how low on the list stevia is. It’s almost like, what’s the point of including stevia at all? That being said, fiber combined with fructose makes fructose much better because the fiber slows down the digestion of fructose. But you can’t just take sugar and add fiber and hope it will be digested without turning to fat. Taking a sugar drink and adding fiber to it, your body will process it much differently than a piece of fruit that has both(3).

The calorie count is also high for a meal replacement shake, at 240 calories. Chances are you’ll be adding milk, fresh or frozen fruit, maybe some peanut butter or oats. These extra ingredients could up the calorie count significantly. Not only that, there are 11 grams of sugar per serving in this shake, which is much higher than the best meal replacement shakes and several grams higher than even the mediocre shakes.

As much as we like high quality ingredients, which this shake does have, in our opinion it’s not particularly affordable for any focused weight loss. We believe drinking two meal replacement shakes a day is ideal for weight loss, which would mean this shake would only last a week at a time. At $50 per container, that may not be affordable for most.

To be fair, this shake does have other positive qualities. The flavors, for example, are unique and varied. Unlike the typical chocolate, vanilla, and strawberry, Isagenix Isalean has Strawberry Cream, French Vanilla, Black Sesame, and Creamy Dutch Chocolate. Who could say no to flavors like that? Their flavors do taste pretty good; though everyone has different taste and is likely to prefer one over another.

Overall, this is a high quality protein shake. Had the amount of total sugar been reduced and the price been more affordable, we have no doubt it would have been ranked much higher.



((1)) Kathleen M. Zelman: Foods That Curb Hunger (September 19,2007) http://www.webmd.com
((2)) Lisa Fields: How Fiber Helps Your Digestive Health (July 24, 2015) http://www.webmd.com/
((3)) Sophie Egan: Making the Case for Eating Fruit (July 31, 2013) http://well.blogs.nytimes.com




Protein quality : 8.9/10

24 grams of protein per serving, whey and milk protein

Appetite Suppressant : 7.9/10

8 grams of fiber per serving

Taste : 9.0/10

Good

Value : 6.0/10

$56.00 for a 2-week supply or $3.80 per shake

Isagenix Isalean Shake Reviews 2017 on March 10, 2017 rated 4.3 of 5
Get It At The Lowest Price Buy Now »

Average User Rating:

26 user reviews

Rating Breakdown:

5 Star
10
4 Star
3
3 Star
3
2 Star
0
1 Star
0

WRITE YOUR Comments

Click stars below to rate.
Rating

READ Comments

  • Rachel March 10th, 2017

    The calories are high because it is a legit meal replacement shake. Isagenix has given me REAL results and has changed my health and my life. I do not sell Isagenix. I am just someone who uses the products, have had real results and will be using them for the rest of my life.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Kathleen Ellertson January 30th, 2017

    My husband and I have been using these Shakes for 8 years with STELLAR results. We have tried others, but none of the others can beat the taste OR the long term results for us!!! They even have YUMMY NON-DAIRY shakes for those who are sensitive to milk or have chosen the VEGAN lifestyle!

    Reply
  • TAMMY November 18th, 2016

    If it has 24 grams of protein that is double what the other shakes have. I could add extra fruit or other ingredients to make a great shake.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Jo-El Buerlen August 24th, 2016

    I fully recoomend this product. I struggled for years to lose weight, tried just about everything out there…this is the nutritional jolt that my body needed. Easy program to follow, the protein tastes fantstic, the cleansing system is gentle! I lost 44.5 lbs and a total of 80 inches on this system, hands down the best I’ve tried and I continue to use it for the energy it provides me every day.

    Reply
  • Patsy August 20th, 2016

    I would never EVER judge a product by its price. It is like comparing a Ford Focus with Jaguar. When I met the lady who had lost 400 lbs I saw something that could help people instead of surgery. 30 day diet is the best way to go. 30 days of all you need. I prefer it with crushed ice. The seasonal shakes are amazing. And now it is being launched in the UK

    Rating
    Reply
  • susie August 1st, 2016

    I started taking Isagenix and had a sizure but did not think it had anything to do with it but could not get any info from anyone on the internet groups they have , every time i would post they would del eat them. have found this to be true with other people too. they have such great reviews because they remove the negative. then i kept using the product and had gotten real bad diareaha and then i ended up having surgery removed part of my intestine, bowl and colin, still having issues was in the hospital again 6 times in 6 months all started after starting this product. I hope to get some answers. Please help if you have had any of these issues.

    Reply
    • For Susie August 20th, 2016

      That is a serious thing to say Susie. Maybe you were lactose intolerant, had an obstructive disorder. I was just at the hospital yesterday and read about a similar medical issue. The woman had robotic surgery to fix the problem. It had NOTHING to do with her diet. Talk to your Doctor about bowel disorders, you may have the same problem as this woman did and it took months to find out. It was an obstructive disorder, had a long name. There is also Colitis and Chrohn’s which you probably are aware of now. Hope you get better and know that the product could never have done this. Ask your Doctor for proof

      Rating
      Reply
    • Deb Simpson August 20th, 2016

      It is always advisable to check with your physician before starting any kind of weight loss program. It is entirely possible that you had some health issues prior to starting on the Isagenix products but maybe were unaware of them. It could just be coincidence that your intestinal problems began at the same time as you were using the products. Perhaps you are lactose intolerant? Another possibility could be Crohn’s Disease which can cause real havoc on one’s intestinal tract and cause them to have repeated hospitalization and surgeries.

      Rating
      Reply
  • josh June 22nd, 2016

    how can a con be the calorie content. It is a meal replacement! You need those calories so you stick to the diet!

    Reply
  • Donna A. June 7th, 2016

    I’ve been doing the Isagenix program for 2 months and have lost 15lbs so far. I would have lost more but had a couple of cheat weekends. This is an easy program to do, however – it isn’t cheap. I do find that I’m spending less money at the supermarket though because I’m enjoying the shakes for 2 meals each day (except for cleansing days).

    Rating
    Reply
  • Michelle June 2nd, 2016

    Ive been on these shakes for about 6 months. There is NO need to add anything like milk, PB or oats like you’re suggesting…for any reason. First of all, its not necessary because it has enough vitamins and minerals and ingredients to be considered a full meal and secondly because it does satiate so no extra cals there. If you think about JUST the cost, sure $50 may seem like a lot, but if youre spending that on food to eat twice a day, I cant imagine eating for $3 a meal and complaining. I think its a great deal! All in all, very satisfied with the price, taste and overall product! Its a winner in my book!

    Rating
    Reply
  • Maria Damis April 28th, 2016

    I love, love my Isagenix program!!! It’s been over 2 years and I’m still crazy about my shakes!! The taste is fantastic. I work in a health food cafe and am not a fan of our proteins. They are a bit chalky, but not Isagenix!!

    Reply
  • Jeannette April 25th, 2016

    I have tried many products out there, this is by far the best full replacement meal I have found. It really does work and does give you extra energy!! I love it!!

    Reply
  • Cathy April 22nd, 2016

    On this plan for 17 days and lost 13 pounds!

    Rating
    Reply
  • Carla Pfeiffer April 8th, 2016

    The amount of sugar is not high as suggested. There is the same amount of sugar in 1 apple. No one would ever tell you not to eat an apple because of it’s high sugar content..

    Reply
  • Jeff Karelius April 8th, 2016

    The formulator of the Isalean product before he came up with this was a private label formulator, and has over 2600 products for over 600 different health and wellness companies to his credit. I have tried just about every shake out there, and I’ve been on the Isalean shake for a few years now and will never switch. They definitely have great things to say about the shake, but the way they downgrade it here because of price is accurate and also inaccurate. The shake is $50 retail, but if you sign up for an account its 39.95 with no tax because it is rated as a food. Note that Just because you sign up for an account does not mean that you need to do the business, it just allows you to purchase it at wholesale. Also in order to be rated as a true meal replacement it must meet the minimum calorie content requirement which is 240 cal.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Jessica December 8th, 2015

    I love Isagenix shakes along with all their products! The shakes actually taste good! Yeah they might have more calories than others but im actually able to drink them. I lost 10lbs in the first 30 days. And I was still eating regular food and had cheat days on the weekends. Definitely worth trying!!

    Rating
    Reply
  • rose December 3rd, 2015

    hi , is it ok to take 2 brand of shakes alternate .ie., shakeology and isagenix

    Reply
  • Annette July 15th, 2015

    I have been on the shake for 3 months and lost 20 pounds, a lot my energy than I had before. I feel more healthier.

    Reply
    • MRS Staff September 14th, 2015

      Hi Annette, so glad to hear that Isagenix Isalean is working for you! 20 pounds in 3 months is a great accomplishment.

      Reply
  • Aimee D. June 1st, 2014

    It’s such a great powder, it’s just extremely expensive. Because of this I now use Labrada Lean. It’s almost half the price.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Denise wesner May 22nd, 2014

    Not sure if this works. I purchased it because it was recommended to me but I haven’t really see results. It might work for you, give it a try.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Desiree Daniels May 17th, 2014

    I have been using this for 8 months and have lost 30 lbs, my dad has lost 50 lbs. We are more healthy and energized. The shake are delicious. Great product.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Jay Garbarino May 13th, 2014

    This is one of the best shakes I’ve had. I can’t stand most protein powders, but this one tastes great. I blend with ice and water, sometimes add banana, and sometimes low cal vanilla yogurt. It holds my hunger and easy to grab and go.

    Rating
    Reply
  • John T. May 10th, 2014

    Tastes so much better in the blender. When you shake or stir it’s all chunky and doesn’t taste great. This product isn’t like a quick run-out-the-door solution. However it tastes great!

    Rating
    Reply
  • Penny Courtney May 5th, 2014

    I would recommend this to anyone trying to lose weight or maintain weight. It tastes good and I lost 10 lbs.

    Rating
    Reply
    • Maria Damis April 28th, 2016

      I love my shakes! It’s been over two years and I’m still loving my program. I work in a health cafe and have compared the taste of our proteins and I like Isagenix better.

      Reply
Top 3 Meal Replacement Shakes
3 Evolv Shake Reviews 2017

Evolv Shake Reviews 2017

Must Reads
How will meal replacement shakes help you with your weight loss?
read
How Long Should I Be Using Meal Replacement Shakes?
read
Excellent habits that healthy people have
read