Isagenix Isalean Shake 2017 Reviews

Isagenix Shake

  • Protein Quality : 8.9/10
  • Appetite Suppressant : 7.9/10
  • Taste : 9.0/10
  • Value : 6.0/10

Overall Rating

8.0

  • Cal 240
  • Protein 24g
  • Fiber 8g
  • Carb 24g
  • Sugar 11g
  • Pros:

    Good amount of protein, fiber, vitamins and minerals; taste

  • Cons:

    High amount of sugar and calories; no superfoods; high price

  •  
    User's Rating
    4.3/5

Summary :


ISAGENIX SHAKE REVIEW


What is Isagenix?

Thinking of trying Isagenix shakes? This thorough review will help you determine if these meal replacement shakes are best suited for you and will help you accomplish your health and weight loss goals.

The company behind the shake, Isagenix International, is a multi-level marketing company with distributors worldwide. They offer weight loss and nutrition products designed to help you slim down and firm up, along with build lean, healthy muscle.

Isagenix’s weight loss shakes, called IsaLean Shakes, are well-loved by some, and unpalatable to others. In addition, although the company promotes healthy living and following a nutritious diet, there are some not-so-healthy aspects on the shake labels, such as high sugar (11g per serving), and the addition of fructose.

Read on to learn more about this popular diet shake…

Isagenix Shake comes in a variety of yummy flavors including French Vanilla, Dutch Chocolate, and Raspberry Cheesecake.


TASTE FACTOR


If you’re looking for a shake that reminds you of a creamy, delicious dessert than IsaLean Shakes may be for you. At least according to a number of Isagenix reviews that we combed through.

The majority of users said they loved the taste of Isagenix shakes, which were easy to mix and had great consistencies, with no grittiness. Many people mentioned that the shakes taste great with other healthy mix-ins such as fruits, veggies and nut butters, and also with just the shake powder and a healthy beverage. (1)Many also mentioned they enjoyed the Isagenix recipes offered on the website.

Many users like how the shake comes in an exciting variety of flavors… including French Vanilla, Dutch Chocolate, Raspberry Cheesecake, Salted Caramel, Chocolate Mint, Vanilla Chai and Peach Mango.

They also mentioned that the shakes do not have that “fake sugar” taste, since they don’t contain artificial sweeteners. They do, however, contain fructose and quite a lot of sugar, which we will discuss in the ingredients section. The great flavor may come with a price tag for your health!

There were also some reviewers that didn’t like the taste of the shakes, saying they couldn’t stomach the flavor and the texture was too thick. (2)

 

ISAGENIX SHAKE INGREDIENTS


Moving onto the ingredients in each shake, we see high calories and protein, but no extra superfoods or additions that would make this a healthy lifestyle shake for the long-term. Let’s start with the calories and see how this would work for weight loss…

 

CALORIES


240 calories per serving

Right off the bat, 240 calories is extremely high for a weight management shake! The best way to drop pounds and reach a healthy weight is to pick a shake that is low in calories, to help you meet your daily calorie goal.

Ideally, you want a shake with around 100 calories per serving, or less – with a healthy balance of nutrients including vitamins, minerals and superfoods.

That’s because if you drink your shake with anything other than water, you are already adding more calories into the mix. And if you make a healthy smoothie with other add-ins such as fruits, veggies, nut butters, avocado, oats, yogurt, etc., you are adding even more. Basically, you would have to drink this shake with only water, and you would still be at a disadvantage calorie-wise if you’re trying to drop pounds.

This shake may be good for those looking to stay the same weight or build muscle, but the calorie count is not ideal for slimming down.

 

PROTEIN


24g of protein per serving

What this shake does have is a high amount of protein, at 24g per serving. This amount is great for helping you feel full and boosting your metabolism to burn more calories. It’s also sufficient for building and maintaining healthy, lean muscles. (3)

The type of protein in this shake comes from a special Myo-IsaLean Complex (which includes whey protein concentrate, milk protein concentrate and low-heat, nonfat dry milk).

Though many people prefer whey (especially for muscle-building), more and more evidence is now showing that plant-based proteins are actually just as beneficial for slimming down and acquiring lean muscle, while also being healthier for you.

Plant-based proteins are also typically easier to digest than whey-based proteins and may cause fewer digestive problems. Consuming high doses of whey (if you plan to drink more than two protein shakes a day), could lead to: (4)

  • Stomach pains

  • Cramping

  • Nausea

  • Headaches


As for the specific type of whey, the formula utilizes whey concentrate instead of whey isolate. Though both can help contribute to lean body mass and strength, whey isolate is known to be a bit better for this, since it has a higher protein content with less carbs, lactose and fat.

Whey isolate is also typically more expensive than whey concentrate, since it provides more nutrients. (5)

 

FIBER/CARBS


8g fiber / 24g carbs

Isagenix excels in this next category with 8g of fiber per serving. Fiber is one of the key elements of great meal replacement shakes, since it’s needed for good digestion and detox maintenance. It helps to keep you regular and keep your body working the way it should.

Fiber also helps with weight loss, keeping you full and satisfied. With 8g of fiber per serving, we would bet this is an incredibly filling shake.

However, surprisingly, there were some user reviews that mentioned they were still hungry after drinking them, but were satisfied after drinking our #1 rated diet shake, 310 Shake.(6)

Next is the carb content… which isn’t so great for IsaLean Shakes. With a count of 24g per serving, these shakes are heavy in carbs. This isn’t the worst thing if you’re just drinking the shakes to have a quick meal on-the-go, but if you’re looking to lose weight, you should try a shake that is lighter in carbs.

310 Isagenix Shake in French Vanilla has 8g of fiber and 24g of carbs.  

 

SUGAR – CONTAINS FRUCTOSE


11g of sugar per serving

Speaking of carbs, Isagenix IsaLean Shakes contain a load of sugar at 11g per serving! These shakes are supposed to be designed to help you get in shape, so why so much sugar, which is void of nutrients and highly addictive? After consuming sugar, it also revs up your appetite, so you may end up eating more calories throughout the day. And… sugar in general is high in calories!

According to the American Heart Association, the guidelines you should follow for how much sugar to eat in a day is around 37.5 grams for men and 25 grams for women. If you have two IsaLean shakes per day, that is already 22g of sugar! (7)

The other problem comes from the source of the sugar… which is fructose. Fructose is a type of sugar that comes from fruit, however, in excess it can potentially cause problems for your liver and heart. Whereas almost every cell in your body can break down glucose for energy, the only ones that can break down fructose are liver cells. And this can cause potential health consequences. (8)

In general, we think the IsaLean shakes would be better off with a much lower amount of sugar, from a healthier source, such as Stevia – which is plant-based and doesn’t significantly affect blood sugar levels, per studies.

 

VITAMINS/MINERALS


To be a good meal replacement drink, a shake also needs to include a plethora of essential vitamins and minerals that will fuel your body with the nutrients it needs.

Each Isagenix Shake contains 23 vitamins and minerals (most over 50% of the recommended daily value)…which is a great amount.

These nutrients are important for a healthy lifestyle and also your weight management goals. When your body is deficient in nutrients, it’s hard to drop pounds and you most likely will be lacking in energy – which is why you need to constantly replenish your body and give it what it needs.

Some of the nutrients in the shake include:

Vitamin A– Protects eyesight, promotes strong bones and keeps your immune system healthy.

Calcium– Essential for healthy, strong bones and teeth.

Zinc– Helps boost immunity and reduce inflammation in the body.

 

NO SUPERFOODS


Though IsaLean Shakes contain a great supply of vitamins and minerals, they lack an extra nutritional superfood complex that many good meal replacement shakes offer. There is no additional fruit and veggie blend in this shake that would take the health factor up even higher, with nutrient-packed greens or added antioxidants.

There is also no probiotics to enhance gut health and support total body health. Things to keep in mind if you’re looking for a long-term health shake that you can drink every day on a busy schedule.

 

POTENTIAL ISAGENIX SIDE EFFECTS


Though you can suffer potential side effects from any meal replacement shake, it’s worth noting that more than a few reviews mentioned they experienced some after drinking Isagenix Shakes.

Some of the side effects experienced included:

  • Stomach pains and cramping

  • Tiredness

  • Headaches

  • Dizziness


Whereas many of these side effects may come with simply getting used to drinking shakes instead of meals, if any of them persists after continued use, you may be sensitive to a particular ingredient in the shakes and you should discontinue use. (9, 6)

The Isagenix 30-day cleanse includes IsaLean Shakes, supplements and more.


COMPANY INFO 


Isagenix International LLC is a multi-level marketing company (more on this in the next section) based in Arizona. It was founded in 2002 and offers health and wellness products in a variety of categories.

For weight management, the company offers 30-day weight loss packs that include a variety of shakes, supplements and snacks.

The popular 30-day system is a “cleansing and fat-burning” starter pak that supports the body’s natural detoxification processes”. The Isagenix cleanse kit is said to help you satisfy cravings for unhealthy foods and improve muscle tone.

In addition, they offer packs and individual products in the categories of: performance, vitality and wellbeing, essential oils and personal care and beauty.

 

ABOUT MULTI-LEVEL MARKETING COMPANIES


Since Isagenix is a multi-level marketing company (MLM), it means that there are various distributors that sell products. You'll most likely be purchasing your products through one of them. However, it seems you're also able to purchase Isagenix products directly from the main Isagenix website (a unique aspect being that most MLMs only allow you to purchase through distributors).

In our opinion, it’s a plus that you can order directly from the company website, since going through distributors can often be frustrating, with added pressure to buy and to continue purchasing. For some, MLMs offer an opportunity to make extra income, but for those just looking to purchase the products, it can often be inconvenient and a bit of a turn-off.

You can also find Isagenix Shakes on Amazon and one reviewer stated that the prices were much better than from the distributors and Isagenix.com.

 

PRICE


Moving onto the Isagenix cost, if you get your shake directly from the Isagenix website, it’s $53.27 per canister. The thing is that every canister only includes 14 servings (2 scoops per serving on the label).

This leaves you paying $3.81 per shake, which is a high amount per serving (especially since the formula doesn’t include additional superfoods or probiotics).

It also means that you’ll run out of shake fairly quickly. If you’re planning on drinking these every day for weight loss, that could be inconvenient unless you buy in bulk.

 

CONCLUSION


Does Isagenix work?

If you’re looking for a whey-based protein shake to help you build muscle, boost metabolism, and potentially enhance your performance, you may want to try Isagenix shakes. The shakes offer a high amount of protein at 24g per serving, 8g of fiber and a variety of vitamins and minerals to fuel your body.

However, if you’re looking for a long-term healthy lifestyle shake, this may not be the shake for you. It has 11g of sugar per serving from fructose (a large amount of fructose consumed on a daily basis could negatively affect your health).

In addition, the shakes are high in calories at 240 per serving and carbs at 24g per serving, so unless you’re vigorously exercising each day, these shakes may not be the best for weight management.

Finally, Isagenix weight loss shakes are expensive! And though they’re sold separately, there are also a lot of product “packs” since the company sells other nutrition products as well. They offer 30-day systems where you would have to use multiple products at once to gain benefits; and since this is a multi-level marketing company, you will most likely be encouraged to buy the systems in full from a distributor.

The bottom line is that signing up for a 30-day program using these shakes could mean committing to quite an expensive endeavor. And if you wish to continue using the products, it may start draining your wallet long-term.

Before you take the plunge, compare Isagenix shakes to other shake reviews on our site, to see if one better meets your needs.

 

Isagenix Comparison:

 

Sources:

  1. http://dietshake-reviews.com/shake-reviews/isagenix-shake/

  2. https://www.amazon.com/Isagenix-Isalean-Shake-Strawberry-29-6oz/product-reviews/B00U0Q0M5C/ref=cm_cr_getr_d_paging_btm_4?pageNumber=4

  3. https://www.verywellfit.com/is-a-high-protein-diet-best-for-weight-loss-3495768

  4. https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/263371.php

  5. https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/whey-protein-isolate-vs-concentrate

  6. http://dietshake-reviews.com/shake-reviews/isagenix-shake/

  7. https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/how-much-sugar-per-day#section3

  8. https://www.health.harvard.edu/heart-health/abundance-of-fructose-not-good-for-the-liver-heart

  9. https://www.hschange.com/isagenix-side-effects/#

Protein quality : 8.9/10

24 grams of protein per serving, whey and milk protein

Appetite Suppressant : 7.9/10

8 grams of fiber per serving

Taste : 9.0/10

Good

Value : 6.0/10

$56.00 for a 2-week supply or $3.80 per shake

Isagenix Shake December 14, 2018 rated 4.3 of 5
Get It At The Lowest Price Buy Now »

Average User Rating:

32 user reviews

Rating Breakdown:

5 Star
11
4 Star
3
3 Star
3
2 Star
0
1 Star
0

WRITE YOUR Comments

Click stars below to rate.
Rating

READ Comments

  • Barbara Mckay December 14th, 2018

    I’ve been using isagenix for almost 7 years and as a long-term customer I highly recommend it…plus there are extra benefits such as creating long-lasting friendships with others committed to living a healthy lifestyle and the isagenix Celebrations once a year are kick-ass fun!! Woot woot Nashville Tennesse 2019. Love it or not…for me the results speak for themselves…Life is better with isagenix!!!!

    Reply
  • Jeff Kozlowski May 18th, 2018

    I just started using these products a month ago and have already lost 15 pounds I have plenty of energy no afternoon drag feel great. I drink two shakes a day and have one healthy meal food wise never hungry anymore don\’t feel as stressed as I was this stuff works great for me.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Annette July 31st, 2017

    I see a lot of people like the taste. I am just starting and I have tried just the chocolate and now half and half with vanilla and chocolate but still, to me, has a bad taste. Do you just get use to it?

    Reply
  • Jack June 9th, 2017

    This is the worst review ever. Very misleading. First of all I am an Isagenix consultant. Let’s get that out of the way. The cost you quote is retail. The product is very seldom sold that way. The shake is one specific part of an entire program that when followed has very very solid science behind it’s effectiveness. They use a combination of Vitamins, Shakes, and Cleanse along with healthy food and snacks to get results. Combined with a program that is built on the concepts of protein pacing, this system is by far superior to using a 100 calorie shake that cannot even truly be called a meal replacement. The shakes are formulated purposely to have 40% Carbs, 30% protein and 30% Healthy Fats and 240 calories. This is a true meal replacement. The sugar is from beets so it is not harmful especially with the higher fiber. And the Whey is from New Zealand where laws prohibit antibiotics and feed with pesticides. That means it can be un-denatured protein which is 80% bio available vs around 20% -40% for denatured whey from the US. Denaturing process requires boiling and kills off the effectiveness of the whey. Don’t believe this other garbage in these reviews.

    Reply
    • sean beck July 6th, 2018

      Isagenix is nothing but a pure scam , sugar content could come from Mars , I don’t care , it is out of control. Also , screw the auto renewal system , what the hell is that about ? I changed over to 18 shake 3 months ago and I could not be happier !!

      Reply
  • Rachel March 10th, 2017

    The calories are high because it is a legit meal replacement shake. Isagenix has given me REAL results and has changed my health and my life. I do not sell Isagenix. I am just someone who uses the products, have had real results and will be using them for the rest of my life.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Kathleen Ellertson January 30th, 2017

    My husband and I have been using these Shakes for 8 years with STELLAR results. We have tried others, but none of the others can beat the taste OR the long term results for us!!! They even have YUMMY NON-DAIRY shakes for those who are sensitive to milk or have chosen the VEGAN lifestyle!

    Reply
  • TAMMY November 18th, 2016

    If it has 24 grams of protein that is double what the other shakes have. I could add extra fruit or other ingredients to make a great shake.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Jo-El Buerlen August 24th, 2016

    I fully recoomend this product. I struggled for years to lose weight, tried just about everything out there…this is the nutritional jolt that my body needed. Easy program to follow, the protein tastes fantstic, the cleansing system is gentle! I lost 44.5 lbs and a total of 80 inches on this system, hands down the best I’ve tried and I continue to use it for the energy it provides me every day.

    Reply
  • Patsy August 20th, 2016

    I would never EVER judge a product by its price. It is like comparing a Ford Focus with Jaguar. When I met the lady who had lost 400 lbs I saw something that could help people instead of surgery. 30 day diet is the best way to go. 30 days of all you need. I prefer it with crushed ice. The seasonal shakes are amazing. And now it is being launched in the UK

    Rating
    Reply
  • susie August 1st, 2016

    I started taking Isagenix and had a sizure but did not think it had anything to do with it but could not get any info from anyone on the internet groups they have , every time i would post they would del eat them. have found this to be true with other people too. they have such great reviews because they remove the negative. then i kept using the product and had gotten real bad diareaha and then i ended up having surgery removed part of my intestine, bowl and colin, still having issues was in the hospital again 6 times in 6 months all started after starting this product. I hope to get some answers. Please help if you have had any of these issues.

    Reply
    • For Susie August 20th, 2016

      That is a serious thing to say Susie. Maybe you were lactose intolerant, had an obstructive disorder. I was just at the hospital yesterday and read about a similar medical issue. The woman had robotic surgery to fix the problem. It had NOTHING to do with her diet. Talk to your Doctor about bowel disorders, you may have the same problem as this woman did and it took months to find out. It was an obstructive disorder, had a long name. There is also Colitis and Chrohn’s which you probably are aware of now. Hope you get better and know that the product could never have done this. Ask your Doctor for proof

      Rating
      Reply
    • Deb Simpson August 20th, 2016

      It is always advisable to check with your physician before starting any kind of weight loss program. It is entirely possible that you had some health issues prior to starting on the Isagenix products but maybe were unaware of them. It could just be coincidence that your intestinal problems began at the same time as you were using the products. Perhaps you are lactose intolerant? Another possibility could be Crohn’s Disease which can cause real havoc on one’s intestinal tract and cause them to have repeated hospitalization and surgeries.

      Rating
      Reply
  • josh June 22nd, 2016

    how can a con be the calorie content. It is a meal replacement! You need those calories so you stick to the diet!

    Reply
  • Donna A. June 7th, 2016

    I’ve been doing the Isagenix program for 2 months and have lost 15lbs so far. I would have lost more but had a couple of cheat weekends. This is an easy program to do, however – it isn’t cheap. I do find that I’m spending less money at the supermarket though because I’m enjoying the shakes for 2 meals each day (except for cleansing days).

    Rating
    Reply
  • Michelle June 2nd, 2016

    Ive been on these shakes for about 6 months. There is NO need to add anything like milk, PB or oats like you’re suggesting…for any reason. First of all, its not necessary because it has enough vitamins and minerals and ingredients to be considered a full meal and secondly because it does satiate so no extra cals there. If you think about JUST the cost, sure $50 may seem like a lot, but if youre spending that on food to eat twice a day, I cant imagine eating for $3 a meal and complaining. I think its a great deal! All in all, very satisfied with the price, taste and overall product! Its a winner in my book!

    Rating
    Reply
  • Maria Damis April 28th, 2016

    I love, love my Isagenix program!!! It’s been over 2 years and I’m still crazy about my shakes!! The taste is fantastic. I work in a health food cafe and am not a fan of our proteins. They are a bit chalky, but not Isagenix!!

    Reply
  • Jeannette April 25th, 2016

    I have tried many products out there, this is by far the best full replacement meal I have found. It really does work and does give you extra energy!! I love it!!

    Reply
  • Cathy April 22nd, 2016

    On this plan for 17 days and lost 13 pounds!

    Rating
    Reply
  • Carla Pfeiffer April 8th, 2016

    The amount of sugar is not high as suggested. There is the same amount of sugar in 1 apple. No one would ever tell you not to eat an apple because of it’s high sugar content..

    Reply
  • Jeff Karelius April 8th, 2016

    The formulator of the Isalean product before he came up with this was a private label formulator, and has over 2600 products for over 600 different health and wellness companies to his credit. I have tried just about every shake out there, and I’ve been on the Isalean shake for a few years now and will never switch. They definitely have great things to say about the shake, but the way they downgrade it here because of price is accurate and also inaccurate. The shake is $50 retail, but if you sign up for an account its 39.95 with no tax because it is rated as a food. Note that Just because you sign up for an account does not mean that you need to do the business, it just allows you to purchase it at wholesale. Also in order to be rated as a true meal replacement it must meet the minimum calorie content requirement which is 240 cal.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Jessica December 8th, 2015

    I love Isagenix shakes along with all their products! The shakes actually taste good! Yeah they might have more calories than others but im actually able to drink them. I lost 10lbs in the first 30 days. And I was still eating regular food and had cheat days on the weekends. Definitely worth trying!!

    Rating
    Reply
  • rose December 3rd, 2015

    hi , is it ok to take 2 brand of shakes alternate .ie., shakeology and isagenix

    Reply
  • Annette July 15th, 2015

    I have been on the shake for 3 months and lost 20 pounds, a lot my energy than I had before. I feel more healthier.

    Reply
    • MRS Staff September 14th, 2015

      Hi Annette, so glad to hear that Isagenix Isalean is working for you! 20 pounds in 3 months is a great accomplishment.

      Reply
  • Aimee D. June 1st, 2014

    It’s such a great powder, it’s just extremely expensive. Because of this I now use Labrada Lean. It’s almost half the price.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Denise wesner May 22nd, 2014

    Not sure if this works. I purchased it because it was recommended to me but I haven’t really see results. It might work for you, give it a try.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Desiree Daniels May 17th, 2014

    I have been using this for 8 months and have lost 30 lbs, my dad has lost 50 lbs. We are more healthy and energized. The shake are delicious. Great product.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Jay Garbarino May 13th, 2014

    This is one of the best shakes I’ve had. I can’t stand most protein powders, but this one tastes great. I blend with ice and water, sometimes add banana, and sometimes low cal vanilla yogurt. It holds my hunger and easy to grab and go.

    Rating
    Reply
  • John T. May 10th, 2014

    Tastes so much better in the blender. When you shake or stir it’s all chunky and doesn’t taste great. This product isn’t like a quick run-out-the-door solution. However it tastes great!

    Rating
    Reply
  • Penny Courtney May 5th, 2014

    I would recommend this to anyone trying to lose weight or maintain weight. It tastes good and I lost 10 lbs.

    Rating
    Reply
    • Maria Damis April 28th, 2016

      I love my shakes! It’s been over two years and I’m still loving my program. I work in a health cafe and have compared the taste of our proteins and I like Isagenix better.

      Reply
Top 3 Meal Replacement Shakes
2 Shakeology Shake

Shakeology Shake

3 Garden of Life Raw Meal Shake

Garden of Life Raw Meal Shake

Must Reads
4 Tasty, Cleansing Apple Cider Vinegar Weight Loss Drinks
read
6 Key Qualities of the Best Meal Replacement Shakes for Women
read
MCT Oil: Can it Really Help Me Slim Down?
read