Shakeology Reviews 2017

Shakeology Shakes

  • Protein Quality : 9.8/10
  • Appetite Suppressant : 8.8/10
  • Taste : 9.5/10
  • Value : 8.7/10

Overall Rating

9.2

  • Cal 160
  • Protein 17g
  • Fiber 6g
  • Carb 17g
  • Sugar 6g
  • Pros:

    High level of nutrients, vitamins and minerals, natural ingredients, protein blend, popular following

  • Cons:

    Price, fructose

  •  
    User's Rating
    2.9/5

Summary :

Shakeology Review


Shakeology is one of the most well-known meal replacement shakes on the market today. Given its popularity, we were curious about the shake itself. Is it popular because of good marketing? Or does the diet shake actually work? What we’re most focused on are the ingredients in Shakeology. Are they safe? How do they promote weight loss? We want you to have the best information – so we’re providing it for you here.

 

Shakeology Nutritional Facts


There are a lot of ingredients in Shakeology. That’s not necessarily good or bad, but it can be difficult to sort through, especially if you don’t know what you’re looking for. Here’s a look at the ingredients panel from the product itself.



We’re looking at the Chocolate flavor, for reference. For the most part, the ingredients should be the same, but there is some variety, both in calorie amount and what makes each shake taste like its particular flavor.

Calories

The recommended serving size is a single scoop of this shake (which is 42 grams). The powder alone is 160 calories. If you mix the shake with water, the calorie count won’t go up and in that case, we would say that this number is beneficial for a low-calorie diet. Generally speaking though, meal replacement shakes are popularly mixed with milk, fruits, and sometimes even vegetables. If that’s the case, it ups the calorie count significantly.

Proprietary Super Fruit / Antioxidant Blend

Shakeology already contains a blend of fruits. This blend consists of Camu-Camu, Acerola Cherry, Bilberry, Goji Berry, Green Tea, Luo Han Guo, Pomegranate, Rose Hips, and Vitamins A, C, and E. It’s not clear how much of these ingredients are included.

The Camu-Camu is responsible for the high amount of Vitamin C. Acai berry, popularized in the past few years, is a good source of Vitamin A.

Shakeology boasts five proprietary blends of nutrient combinations. Some of these blends are: Proprietary Super-Protein Blend, Proprietary Super-Fruit / Antioxidant Blend, and Proprietary Adaptogen Blend.

 

Protein Sources (Core Engine)


Protein is the backbone to any good meal replacement shake. Shakeology uses whey protein and pea protein in their shakes. Whey protein isolate is one of the most popular choices for protein in meal replacement shakes because it’s one of the most complete proteins available. Whey comes in different varieties, like concentrate, isolate, and hydrolysate. Isolate is the whey protein used in this diet shake. It’s 90% protein or higher. It contains less lactose and fat than other strains, but also contains less beneficial nutrients.

Pea protein is being rediscovered as a powerhouse protein. It’s vegan-friendly and has a low allergen profile. It’s rich in BCAAs (branched chain amino acids), which can help you feel full longer, keep your body in a muscle building state for a prolonged amount of time, decrease belly fat, keep you full between meals, and energize your workouts. It’s high in protein, low in carbohydrates, is gluten free, and lactose free.

The shake contains 17 grams of protein in total. This is a high amount of protein for a food source but not necessarily in a bad way. To determine your RDA of protein, take your body weight and multiply it by 36% (or .36).

 

Fiber Sources


Fiber sources vary from one shake to another. A high amount of fiber is a great natural way to fill you up. The FDA recommends that we get 25 grams of fiber a day, based on a 2,000 calorie diet.1 To determine how much you personally should be consuming, try using a fiber requirement calculator online. Chocolate Shakeology contains 6 grams of dietary fiber which seems like a great amount to help satisfy your daily intake needs.

Fiber is an essential part of your diet because it takes up space in your stomach, making you feel full, but passes through your system relatively undigested. Soluble fiber dissolves in water into a gel-like substance. Insoluble fiber promotes the movement through your digestive system.2

Shakeology sites fiber sources as apple pectin, flax, chia meal, and yacon. We notice that pea fiber and chicory root fiber are also included in the ingredients list, but not mentioned in Beachbody’s FAQ regarding the fiber sources in their meal replacement shakes. They also have a supplement to add to your fiber intake, which is listed below.

 

What Are The Sweeteners?


There are multiple different ways to sweeten a meal replacement shake. Sugar is one option, artificial sweeteners are another, and natural sweeteners that aren’t sugar are also an option. The amount of sugar in a shake is critical, as it’s a simple carbohydrate that, if consumed in excess, can result in excess fat.

Artificial sweeteners seem like the perfect solution – they’re no calorie and supposedly pass through your system without actually being absorbed. Sucralose (more well-known as Splenda) is a popular artificial sweetener. It’s approved by the FDA – how could anything possibly be wrong with it? Well, there are always contingencies, and watch dog groups have taken a very different stance on artificial sweeteners.

Sucralose is created by chlorinating sucrose, regular table sugar. The human body is not good at ridding itself of organic compounds that have been chlorinated. The FDA says that “there is only 11 percent to 27 percent absorption, but the Japanese Food Sanitation Council says as much as 40 percent is absorbed by the body.”3

The FDA confirms that sucralose is 98% pure, but it’s been suggested that it contains heavy metals like lead, arsenic, triphenilphosphine oxide, methanol, chlorinated disaccharides, and other potentially dangerous substances.

It seems that there hasn’t been enough long-term research to determine whether or not sucralose is truly harmful. Until then you may want to pursue the use of more natural substances such as stevia or lo Han fruit for use as a non-caloric sweetener. All great natural sugar substitutes that come with little to no controversy. Whereas Shakeology used to have sucralose in their chocolate flavor, they have removed it, instead using these more natural options, and we approve.

 

Who’s Behind Shakeology?


Shakeology is brought to you by Beachbody, a well-respected fitness company responsible for the workouts P90X and Insanity. It’s a MLM (multi-level marketing) company that relies on its customers to not only buy the shake, but to sell it as well, and recruit others to sell the diet shake.

 

Side Effects


There was a public scare about the amount of lead contained in the Greenberry flavor4. In 2013 Consumerlab reported that the shake contained excessively high amounts of lead. Since then, Shakeology has changed its recipe and Consumerlab approved the flavor.

 

How to Contact


Beachbody offers email and live chat for customers to reach their company. Both of those options can be reached by clicking here.

 

Does it Work?


Despite some of Shakeology’s questionable ingredients, the formula does also include ingredients that can be beneficial to weight loss, like high amounts of protein and fiber. The calorie count may also benefit weight loss, depending on how many other outside sources you add to the shake. We can’t see any reason why this diet shake would be detrimental to weight loss, if you include it with a healthy diet and exercise regimen, except maybe the price (which is pretty high at $129.95 for a 30-serving package).

 


Sources:

  1. http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/GuidanceDocumentsRegulatoryInformation/LabelingNutrition/ucm064928.htm

  2. http://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/nutrition-and-healthy-eating/in-depth/fiber/art-20043983

  3. https://www.downtoearth.org/articles/2009-03/68/sucralose-dangerous-sugar-substitute

  4. http://www.doctoroz.com/beachbody-statement-response-consumer-lab-report-shakeology


 

Protein quality : 9.8/10

16 grams of protein per serving, whey and pea protein

Appetite Suppressant : 8.8/10

3 grams of fiber per serving

Taste : 9.5/10

Average

Value : 8.7/10

$129.95 for a 30-day supply or $4.33 per serving

Shakeology Shakes on February 23, 2017 rated 2.9 of 5
Get It At The Lowest Price Buy Now »

Average User Rating:

37 user reviews

Rating Breakdown:

5 Star
8
4 Star
3
3 Star
1
2 Star
3
1 Star
7

WRITE YOUR Comments

Click stars below to rate.
Rating

READ Comments

  • ashley February 23rd, 2017

    I know Fructose is in this product which is sugar, which = weight gain. Where does Fructose appear in the ingredients? I fail to see that?

    Rating
    Reply
  • azu February 20th, 2017

    It’s horrible: Long story short. every month I had the worst PMS Mood swings, period cramps. Like I am dying on the floor seriously thought I had a miscarriage or something! I also gained 20lbs in 6 months. I only wanted a breakfast replacement and a way to workout indoors. I never needed to lose weight. I weighed 125 and gained like 10lbs in like 2 months. When I talked to my “coach” she said that I was not committed enough, exercising and eating properly. she totally shifted the blame on to me. When I had never had problems gaining weight since I learned to eat clean 5 years ago. it’s pretty messed up bc they get inside your head and try to tell you you’re not athletic or eat well enough. it didn’t work on me because I was already active and athletic and a super clean eater! Who ever is selling this CRAP either A. doesn’t give ahoot about people , or B. is completely blind. Although there are not ENOUGH bad reviews for this product and I can see why people MAY get confused and think its ok to sell. You all have been warned. Thanks for posting! I feel like i DESTROYED years worth of fitness to my body. It is no ones fault but mine. feel free to ask for more details. My ladies cycle is back to normal like magically instantly!

    Rating
    Reply
  • greg lurry February 18th, 2017

    I do Beachbody workouts and so it’s pretty hard to not see the Shakeology commercials. I finally decided to try the drink. I figure if their shakes are as good for me as their workouts have been, I’m happy to spend the money. As long as I can stand the taste. I tried it and it was SO bad. So bitter and unpleasant tasting I had to force it down. If it’s the exotic jungle foods that make it taste so bad, I can live without it.

    Rating
    Reply
    • Wes May 6th, 2015

      I bought the sampler pack of shakeology, because like most people I too was skeptical. It came with all 6 flavors of shakeology after finishing all the flavors i decided that their chocolate and strawberry flavors were really missing the mark on the flavor profile… But Greenberry Shakeology™… is in my opinion the most enjoyable of the flavors. Having lost over 200 lbs using beachbody products I know for a fact and without a doubt in my mind this stuff works!!! If you want to be some of the thousands that have changed their lifes. Shakeology is a great place to start. Get yours at http://www.Shakeology.com/wesleyhickox

      Rating
      Reply
    • Carl Smestad June 11th, 2016

      Are you sure it was Shakeology. I have tried 3 of there flavors and liked 2 out the 3. I didnt care much for the Chocolate and nevr tried the greenberry but the Vanilla and Strawberry was very good. Now you have to remember this is a health shake not an ice cream shake

      Reply
    • Dana August 21st, 2016

      Mixed with almond milk and 1/2 frozen banana it\’s fantastic. If not well it is really bad

      Rating
      Reply
    • Carl Smestad December 18th, 2016

      I guess I never tried with just water. But if you add milk or almond milk it tastes really good. Add a few ice cubes and use a blender. I have tried many of these other shakes or meal replacement shakes and they are not even close to when it comes to results

      Rating
      Reply
    • Chad February 16th, 2017

      I see a lot of folks commenting on the gritty nature of shakeology. I have been drinking Shakeology for over 2 years now and love all flavors with one recipe. The one thing I will say is this. If it is not blended properly then yes it will be just like many of the other shakes out there with the gritty texture. My large normal blender does a crappy job at blending this stuff up with just water and Ice, however my 20 target travel blender does an amazing job and takes care of any grittiness or anything. Just a suggestion and I am on and always will be on the Beachbody Train moving full steam ahead 🙂 Have a great day folks and thanks for the review.

      Reply
    • jesmah February 17th, 2017

      at first i didn’t like that taste of it. it did have the medicine taste to it but i added a banana in with the strawberry flavor and it tastes so good just as much as an actual shake..i have it every morning after my workout and again in the evening for dinner =D it’s very filling.

      Rating
      Reply
      • MRS Staff September 14th, 2015

        You’ve cracked the code! We find that adding a few fruits or even vegetables make most shakes taste even better and make them more filling. Glad Shakeology is working out for you!

        Reply
  • Samantha February 15th, 2017

    the taste is awful!! I got regular chocolate and used almond milk, banana, and peanut butter. It had to plug my nose to drink it! I have two stars because although it’s gross, it gave me an amazing amount of energy and fullness. I’m not buying again!

    Rating
    Reply
    • Zeb July 15th, 2015

      I was given the chocolate Shakeology to try, and it was the worst tasting thing I let in my mouth in recent memory. My whey protein shake is like a gourmet dessert compared to this. I won’t be trying it again.

      Rating
      Reply
    • MRS Staff September 15th, 2015

      Hi Samantha, it’s too bad you didn’t like the flavor of Shakeology. Is there another shake you found that you like more? We’d love to know!

      Reply
  • Tiffani February 14th, 2017

    I added 1 cup of almond milk, greek yogurt, and frozen cherries to the blender. It was so awful that I had to pour it down the drain. It was gritty and chemical tasty. Disgust.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Joan February 14th, 2017

    Unfortunately this company has some of the worst customer service. The truth is the product really isn\’t all that great for the price it should at least taste good. Also if you order one time shipment the will put you down as auto ship and it is hard to cancel. I received my product first part of May and noticed they put me on auto ship and I called and had it canceled but still come June they charged me and shipped more out to me. So I just called and they are supposed to fix the problem but considering they couldn\’t fix it the first time I called 2 weeks ago I\’m sure I\’ll have to call again. Don\’t do business with this company I learned the hard way.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Special K December 24th, 2016

    I was given the chocolate by a beachbody coach. I just put it in my shaker bottle and drink it down. I just mix it with water and I’m good to go. I like the taste. Its a supplement, that’s all! My only complaint is the price. Cheaper than medicine and surgery,though.

    Reply
  • sara November 17th, 2016

    IS A SCAM! They have our credit card information and is shipping the product to someone else and they will not let us know who. They put you on hold for large amounts of time and will not help. They have charged almost $500 with no explanation. I will be letting everyone know! I have many people that are coaches for this organization and I am so disappointed!

    Reply
  • Sarah September 23rd, 2016

    I only recently started drinking shakeology in conjunction with the 21 day fix. The program takes a holistic approach with exercise- being the main focus, healthy eating and the optional shake. The shake isn’t meant to be a magic weight loss tool- or a meal replacer in the sense that you don’t eat food but drink the shake 2x a day. The eating plan is full of whole foods with a focus on vegetables and pelted with some carbs and a little healthy fats- quite balanced if you ask me. The shake doesn’t take any of that away. It just fills a space when you are eating 6 small meals a day. If you drink an indulgent feeling chocolate shake instead of eating crap for breakfast or snack or possibly lunch- then you will have great benefits. It counts as 1 protein when you are designated 4 per day. It doesn’t mean you still don’t eat all of the fruits, vegetables yadda yadda that you are supposed to eat. As for bloating and gas- a common side effect of probiotics to people who haven’t had them is that. Your gut flora is getting used to the new bacteria and it can take a while if you have had a terrible diet. I like the shake and I am starting to get results. Vanilla tastes good- I make it with homemade almond milk and it definitely does curb cravings and give me energy so far. It tastes indulgent. It keeps me fuller than a proper serving of Greek yogurt and fruit or 2 hard boiled eggs, Etc. it’s a good low calorie protein source for after a grueling workout. We will see how I like it after time, but I think the point of the whole thing is working out and eating healthy, not a miracle shake that you drink and magically lose weight. It may be expensive but so is Starbucks and a gym membership. If you buy it with the challenge pack then its a better deal and you get a coach to help encourage you. But it’s all about choices. You can still do the workout and eating plan without the shake. I like getting the 70 superfoods and vitamins in my body. I’m getting everything I need on a daily basis!

    Reply
  • Dana August 21st, 2016

    This is a great product, taste is fantastic as long as it is mixed properly. But it is so expensive, make it so it\’s not affordable

    Rating
    Reply
  • Dee August 17th, 2016

    I have tried 310, and now Shakeology. I love Shakeology shakes. I mix it with unsweetened Almond milk and ice to make a frothy shake. The chocolate, and the latte, and strawberry are my favorites. I’ve tried all of their flavors and they all are good. The cost is a bit much. I’ve gone through a sample pack, and now waiting for my months delivery to arrive today. I find they really do suppress my appeitie .

    Rating
    Reply
  • Tessa July 19th, 2016

    My sis gave me some when I ran out of my regular brand. Taste was fine, ingredients were decent, though it had lower protien and WAY more sugar than other brands. The bigfest setback was price. It is absurd that I can get the same, if not better, quality and quantity shake for a third of the price.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Julie June 14th, 2016

    Can you tell me if it contains sucralose or other artificial sweetener?
    Thanks 🙂

    Reply
  • Diana brennan June 13th, 2016

    DO NOT BUY!! It\’s crap and doesn\’t work. Also they claim it\’s 100% money back guarantee but they won\’t refund me my money after using it for a month. Total waste of time and money. Complete rip off. There is plenty of great meal replacements that are soooo much cheaper and better tasting then this crap. Don\’t fall for it.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Dell June 7th, 2016

    1 bottle of glucerna, 1 tsp peanut butter , 1/2 frozen banana and 3/4 cup almond milk in blender…yummy and low in sugar

    Reply
  • Jackie May 20th, 2016

    I love Shakeology! I’ve been drinking it nearly everyday for a year. I haven’t had any of the grittiness problems people talk about below (except for the vanilla flavor) but I believe Beachbody has updated the formulas over the last year. I prefer the 2 vegan flavors though. They should even have their own page as they are not the same as the regular flavors.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Nicole May 9th, 2016

    The flavor is terrible. There are 9 grams of sugar (that\’s a lot), and 16 grams of protein. My optimum nutrition shake only has 1 gram of sugar and 24 grams of protein for the same serving size. And it\’s cheaper. Not impressed with this product!

    Rating
    Reply
    • Neva August 16th, 2016

      Is Optimum Nutrition the brand of shake with the 1 gram of sugar and 24 grams of protein?

      Reply
  • Josephine May 7th, 2016

    I ordered the chocolate shakeology and signed up as a coach to receive it at the discounted price. I am a chocolate lover but this shake was way to rich. I went about returning it and there was nothing simple and easy about it. I had to pay the shipping to return it, then after two weeks I never received the refund. I called to check what was going on and was told that they received the package some time ago but the return still needed to be processed and the agent would do it at that moment. Said it would take 5-7 business days to receive the refund. I confirmed with him that everything was cancelled on my account. Then about a month later I notice a $41 and change charge on my card from them. I call and am told that the Autoship wasn\’t cancelled; but that he can refund me because he does see that I cancelled. Tells me it will take 5-7 business days for money to be returned. I was placed on hold then was told the ondemand wasn\’t cancelled; oh and then the business account wasn\’t cancelled… And that it is something I have to do myself but the agent could walk me through… He tells me to log on to the website and log on. I type my info and it says that my email cannot be found in the database. He confirms my email with me. Then he gets tech on the phone. He confirms my email with me then tells me he will email me over the cancellation form. I was told that I could try out the shake if I didn\’t like it there was a 30 day money back guarentee; I was told to sign in as a coach this way I would get it cheaper… All this extra bullshit I was not told. I have friends who drink it and love it.

    Rating
    Reply
    • Melissa June 20th, 2016

      Literally the EXACT same thing just happened to me. I cant believe it! That so crazy…. I’m still waiting for my 2nd refund of the one I returned.

      Reply
  • Kate February 3rd, 2016

    I’ve been a Shakeology drinker for 4 years and while over the years I have tasted all of the flavors, the Vegan formulas (Chocolate and Tropical Strawberry)are my favorite and the ones I would try over the Vanilla or the Greenberry, but that’s just me. The taste for me is far and above some of the ones I’ve tried including others that are rated higher. Taste is an individual thing, that should not be part of the rating atleast in my opinion. Something you find delicious could/would be something I find disgusting, so including something as individual as TASTE in this rating, isn’t truly an unbiased way to do it.
    Anyways my recommendation on flavor
    1st choice .. YES I love Chocolate = try the Chocolate / Vegan Chocolate (and add PB or almond butter = heaven)
    Next up for me would be the Strawberry / Vegan Tropical Strawberry (add banana & pineapple)
    3rd Vanilla – add pretty much anything to this to change up the flavor, mix 1/2 scoops with other flavors, add PB and milk, add OJ for something like a creamsicle)
    Last choice would be the Greenberry … BUT let me say I am not a fan of ANY type of “green” tasting drink, so there you go.

    What have I experienced while on Shakeology .. initialy noticed good energy throughout the day, I started sleeping better and best of all had less cravings, as 6 months went by I noticed I no longer was getting my hormanal headaches each month and less bloating during that time too. I can go on vacation and not put on “vacation weight” and overall I just know that I’m feeding my body good natural ingredients that our food supply just does not offer us anymore. Our food doens’t have the same nutrition it did 5-10-20 years ago, this is one way I combat that, along with organic shopping.

    Reply
  • Annie September 14th, 2015

    I only like the strawberry and I have to add a banana and milk to make it ok. I do split one in two portions and substitute breakfast and lunch. I do not feel hungry and I am not a snack person so the shakes must have a lot of stuff on it.

    Reply
  • Erin Tarleton August 12th, 2015

    Love the info on your site. I have stage IV cancer was looking for meal replacement shakes to have when I am too sick to eat. I cannot tolerate artificial sugars, including Stevia and do not need thing such as appetite suppressants added. If that wasn\’t enough already, I am also lactose intolerant. Any suggestions on products that may suit my needs?

    BTW, I was on the HMR system years ago and loved their products. Our diet group became very creative using flavorings to create Piña Coladas, chocolate mint and many other variations to keep meal time interesting!

    Rating
    Reply
    • MRS Staff September 14th, 2015

      Hi Erin. Arbonne’s meal replacement shake may be suitable for your needs. They’re dairy free and sugar cane is the main source of sugar. The shake does also contain stevia though. Be sure to consult your doctor before trying the shake though 🙂

      Reply
  • Debbie July 28th, 2015

    The taste is awful. I have the 3 day Refresh with Tropical Strawberry and Vanilla Shakeology shakes. I am on day 3 and can hardly choke this stuff down, seriously?? If there isn’t some weight loss as I have been following this plan very strictly, I am definitely asking for my money back. I don’t know how people can say they taste good. On the 3 day refresh I can’t add anything to the shakes to mask the nastiness and grittiness. I am even using a nutri-bullet to blend them, with ice.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Jessica August 6th, 2014

    Decent product….

    Rating
    Reply
Top 3 Meal Replacement Shakes
2 Shakeology Shakes

Shakeology Shakes

3 Evolv Shakes Reviews

Evolv Shakes Reviews

Must Reads
How will meal replacement shakes help you with your weight loss?
read
How Long Should I Be Using Meal Replacement Shakes?
read
Excellent habits that healthy people have
read