Vega One Shake 2017 Reviews

Vega One Shake

  • Protein Quality : 8.7/10
  • Appetite Suppressant : 7.9/10
  • Taste : 6.4/10
  • Value : 6.8/10

Overall Rating

7.5

  • Cal 140
  • Protein 15g
  • Fiber 7g
  • Carb 12g
  • Sugar 2g
  • Pros:

    Plant-based protein blend; high amount of vitamins and minerals; healthy shake

  • Cons:

    Negative taste reviews; new organic version is lacking

  •  
    User's Rating
    4/5

Summary :

VEGA ONE PROTEIN REVIEW


The Vega One All-In-One Shake is a protein powder designed to be a healthy meal replacement for on-the-go and busy lifestyles. According to Vega, it’s formulated to help you get essential nutrients that you need each day for energy, mental and physical performance, and overall health and vitality.

But you may be wondering if you can use this shake to slim down? This thorough review will give you our analysis of this shake brand, and whether or not we think it’s a diet shake you should seriously consider.

Plus, is it good for your health, or are there some ingredients that it would be better to avoid? Will it meet your needs and satisfy your taste buds?

Read on to find out more…

 

Vega Shakes now come in both organic and non-organic formula options.

 

ORGANIC VS. NON-ORGANIC


Recently, Vega debuted an all-organic shake formula, and it’s causing some big waves in their normal customer following. (1)

Though Vega states on their website that an all-organic shake is a goal they’ve long-desired to attain (and that customers have specifically requested), many aren’t happy with it. This dissatisfaction seems to stem from a few main things:

Taste: Many people in Vega One reviews stated that the flavor and texture of the new shake formula is lacking… with bad taste and a gritty consistency. Some also mentioned that it’s difficult to shake until smooth, and it’s too sweet (with an artificial flavor, even though there are no artificial sugars).

Product contents / Price: Though the new formula is the same price, it now has 17 servings per container instead of 19, so you get less product. In addition, the shake has more sodium, less fiber, and less vitamins and minerals.

Allergy statement: The label says, “manufactured in a facility that also processes peanuts, dairy, soy, egg and tree nuts”, a statement that was not on the previous label. People who are strictly vegan or have allergies won’t be able to use the product due to chance of cross contamination.

Though Vega still offers the non-organic shake version on their site (which we will review, below), it makes you wonder if they will eventually phase it out and just offer the organic version. Only time will tell, and maybe they will reformulate it, but currently it seems that more people are unhappy with it than satisfied.

 

TASTE FACTOR


Vega Shakes come in a variety of flavors, which is nice to give people options and allow them to make different, scrumptious smoothie recipes.

The current Vega One Protein Shake flavors include Chocolate Mint, Chocolate, French Vanilla, Plain Unsweetened, Coconut Almond, Mocha and Berry.

We already touched on Vega protein reviews for the new organic shake flavors, which aren’t great. Let’s look at reviews for the older, non-organic French Vanilla formula: (2)

  • The shake tasted gross, even when blended with coconut milk, Splenda and even ice cream.

  • The shake tasted great compared to many others that were tried. It’s wasn’t gritty or chalky and had a rich flavor.

  • The shake had an excellent flavor which made them look forward to drinking it each day.


Taste is a very personal aspect, but it seems the company is better off with the old shake formula when it comes to taste, although some people still didn’t like it.

 

INGREDIENTS


 The Vega Protein Powder is vegan, containing healthy plant-based proteins.

 

A quick glance at the label shows that the Vega Shake is a plant-based protein powder, which makes it a vegan protein option as well as a vegetarian protein powder option. This is great since it opens the door for a wider audience to be able to use the product.

It also contains a healthy balance of nutrients and even some superfoods. Let’s start by looking at the calories first…

 

CALORIES


160 calories per serving

Let’s take a look at the French Vanilla Non-Organic Shake label. First off, there is 160 calories per serving, which is slightly high. Ideally, a shake would have a calorie count closer to 100 calories per serving, which would make it easier to stick with a low-calorie diet.

With that being said, there are lots of meal replacement shakes with much higher calories per serving (with some in the upper 200’s). Compared to those, the Vega Shake is definitely a good choice. Especially if weight management is not your number one goal, 160 calories per serving is okay, and you can use low-calorie add-ins in your smoothies.

 

PROTEIN


20g of protein per serving

Each Vega Shake has an impressive 20g of protein per serving, which is a great amount for a diet shake. A good meal replacement shake should have 15 – 20g of protein per serving in order to help boost metabolism, promote satiety and fuel your body with the energy and nutrients it needs.

A shake with a good amount of protein will help you maintain a fit, slim figure while helping you excel in your fitness efforts. Many proteins can also help you build and maintain lean muscle.

Pea, Hemp and Sacha Inchi Proteins

The proteins used in the Vega powder are plant-based, which is great. This is because the company’s goal is to create a health-focused shake and plant-based proteins are packed with health benefits. They’ve also been shown in studies to be just as effective for muscle-building and weight management.

Let’s take a look at the benefits of the individual proteins:

Pea protein: A highly-digestible protein, pea has been known to be easy on the stomach and usually doesn’t lead to the digestive issues that whey can. It’s a filling protein that will keep you satisfied, and it can assist with muscle recovery. (3)

Hemp protein: Contains all nine essential amino acids important for full body health and packed with heart-healthy fatty acids. (4)

Sacha Inchi protein: Rich in omega 3, 6, and 9 essential fatty acids, and may help to lower bad cholesterol and increase good cholesterol. (5)

 

FIBER/CARBS


6g fiber / 10g carbs

The Vega One protein powder has a good amount of fiber at 6g per serving. Ideally, a meal replacement shake should have 5-10g of fiber per serving.

Getting sufficient fiber each day is necessary for a healthy lifestyle and to maintain a healthy weight. It helps keep your digestion running smoothly along with your bowel health. It also helps your body continually cleanse itself of toxins and may even help lower your cholesterol levels. (6)

When it comes to your weight, fiber helps to control your blood sugar levels, and aids in fullness, keeping you satisfied until your next meal.

Two fibers used in the Vega Protein Shake are:

Organic Acacia Gum– Sourced from the acacia tree, it’s a dietary fiber that can dissolve in water. It makes you feel full, so it may help with weight management and lower cholesterol levels. People with asthma or known allergies to other plants may be sensitive to or have a reaction to this ingredient. (7)

Inulin– Type of fiber that’s found in certain plant foods, namely chicory root, and can help relieve digestive problems.

Inulin may cause some side effects including: (8)

  • Bloating

  • Cramps

  • Gas

  • Diarrhea


The Vega One Chocolate Shake has a good amount of fiber and is low in sugar.

 

SUGAR


1g of sugar per serving

The Vega All-In-One Shake has only 1g of sugar per serving – which is great. It also contains Stevia Leaf Extract, which is a healthy sugar alternative. (9)

Facts on Stevia:

  • Plant-based sweetener

  • Contains no sugar and little to no calories

  • Shown to have no effect on blood glucose or insulin response

  • May help lower blood pressure


We’re also glad that the Vega protein supplement doesn’t use artificial sweeteners in their shakes, since they have been linked to potential long-term health problems with continued use. They may also lead to weight gain by increasing appetite.

 

VITAMINS/MINERALS


Vega French Vanilla Shake contains 19 vitamins and minerals, many at 50% of the recommended daily value or higher. This is a great amount for a meal replacement shake, helping the user to keep up with the nutrient content they need each day.

Since you would most likely be replacing meals with these shakes, you would get many of the vitamins and minerals you would normally get from a healthy meal.

Some of the nutrients in the shake include:

Vitamin D– Essential for the development of bones and teeth and for a strong immune system.

Biotin– Promotes healthy, strong hair and nails and clear skin.

Iodine– Helps ensure the thyroid works properly, aiding in good metabolism and toxin removal.

 

SUPERFOODS


Vega Shakes also contain some superfoods that can help boost your energy and vitality even more. These include organic broccoli, kale and spirulina. There is also a dried fruit and vegetable blend (with non-organic ingredients including spinach, broccoli, carrot, beet, tomato, apple, cranberry, orange and more).

In addition, the formula includes probiotics (bacillus coagulans) but doesn’t state how much is in each serving. Probiotics can help to boost gut health and support overall health.

 

SIDE EFFECTS / PRODUCT RECALLS


It’s worth noting that quite a few people have had problems with the Vega Protein Shake in the past. According to one review, the FDA has had two Vega One recalls. The first one was for trace amounts of a naturally occurring antibiotic found in their products (cholamphenicol or CAP). (10)

The second one was for contamination of lactose found in their products. Since Vega One Shakes don’t normally contain milk, this also could have caused a serious allergic reaction in those who are sensitive to it.

In addition, there have been instances of people becoming sick after drinking Vega One Protein Shakes. There is no consensus on what caused it… it could have been due to one of the recalls, or it could be due to an allergy to one of the ingredients (one of the algaes or to savi seed). Either way, it’s definitely something to be wary of and keep in mind with this product! (11)

Along with the Vega One Protein Shake, Vega also makes protein bars and other supplements.

COMPANY INFO


Vega was founded on the idea that people should put “functional, real food ingredients” first. The co-founder, Brendan Brazier, began creating “delicious plant-based products that met his needs as an athlete, and as a person.”

Today, the company offers various products that support this mission including protein powders, bars, snacks, shakes and supplements. The website states that everything made at Vega is vegan certified, non-GMO project verified, gluten-free, grain-free, and free of artificial flavors and preservatives.

 

PRICE


A large tub of Vega One French Vanilla Shake is $59.99 on their website (it states that it used to be $69.99). This tub has 19-22 servings, so not even enough for an entire month. At this price, you would be paying anywhere from $2.73 per serving for 22 servings to $3.16 per serving for 19 servings.

The company also offers other sizes (small or extra-large tub, single serving packets, and 10-packs). If you want to order enough to last you one month (with one shake a day), you’d have to go with the extra-large tub for $99.99. That’s about $2.22 to $2.27 per serving but you’d be paying more up front.

In general, the price of this shake isn’t bad, since you’re getting high-quality nutrients and an all-around well-balanced shake in each serving.

 

CONCLUSION


If you’re thinking of trying Vega One Shakes, there are definitely some things to consider. First off, according to the label, this product definitely qualifies as a healthy lifestyle shake. There are healthy plant-based proteins, good fiber, adequate vitamins and minerals, superfoods and probiotics.

You could have these shakes as quick meals as part of a healthy lifestyle, and it would probably help you manage your weight as well (as long as you don’t add many high-calorie ingredients into your smoothies), since the shake is already 160 calories per serving.

The price of the shake is also decent, but there are some other things to keep in mind… There were some negative reviews on the taste of this shake (and even more negative reviews for the new all-organic version).

Plus, the all-organic version seems to be lacking in other areas and has many people upset over the serving size and price. In addition, the non-organic shake has a record of making some people sick in the past, either due to a recall or an allergy.

Even with these downfalls, the Vega All-In-One Shake could still be a great meal replacement shake option, if it works for you. Before you decide, check out more of our reviews and compare Vega to some of our other top shake contenders, below…

 

Vega One Comparison:

Vega One vs. 310 Shake

Vega One vs. Shakeology

Vega One vs. Herbalife

 

Sources:

  1. https://www.amazon.com/Vega-Shake-French-Vanilla-Servings/product-reviews/B00R0Y0V94/ref=cm_cr_dp_d_show_all_btm?ie=UTF8&reviewerType=all_review

  2. https://www.amazon.com/Vega-Shake-French-Vanilla-Servings/product-reviews/B00R0Y0V94

  3. https://www.womenshealthmag.com/food/a22019662/pea-protein-benefits/

  4. https://draxe.com/brown-rice-protein-powder/

  5. http://www.superlife.com/sacha-inchi

  6. https://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/nutrition-and-healthy-eating/in-depth/fiber/art-20043983

  7. https://www.webmd.com/vitamins/ai/ingredientmono-268/acacia

  8. https://www.webmd.com/vitamins-and-supplements/inulin-uses-and-risks

  9. https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/287251.php

  10. https://www.dietspotlight.com/vega-one-review/


11. http://www.runstogetwaisted.com/2013/01/vega-one-and-porcelain-goddess.html

Protein quality : 8.7/10

15 grams of protein per serving, protein blend consisting of pea protein, hemp seed protein, sprouted whole grain brown rice protein, and SaviSeed protein

Appetite Suppressant : 7.9/10

7 grams of fiber and Chromium

Taste : 6.4/10

Unsatisfactory

Value : 6.8/10

$70 for 22 servings or or $3.20 per shake

Vega One Shake October 5, 2017 rated 4 of 5
Get It At The Lowest Price Buy Now »

Average User Rating:

12 user reviews

Rating Breakdown:

5 Star
7
4 Star
2
3 Star
1
2 Star
2
1 Star
0

WRITE YOUR Comments

Click stars below to rate.
Rating

READ Comments

  • Char rogers October 5th, 2017

    Use unsweetened almond milk, Stevia sweeter and frozen berries
    Yummy!

    Rating
    Reply
  • Gina April 23rd, 2016

    I recently got a few sample packets to see if I will like it before i buy a whole tub. I read so many comments saying how bad the taste is but honestly taste is subjective and I wouldn’t disregard this shake unless you tried it. I was expecting the french vanilla to taste terrible however I was surprised at how good it is. I mixed it with 1 1/2 cups of unsweetened almond milk and found it to be pleasant to drink. I have been using ideal shape for months and want to my switch meal replacement shake to something with better ingredients and I think this is the winner. Although ideal shape is cheaper I think spending a little extra money on a product that has quality ingredients is worth it.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Joanne April 19th, 2016

    I find it very sweet but, okay. I have the all in one chocolate prior to that I had the greens one with less ingredients but, now I notice I have heart palpitations after drinking and lasts throughout the morning. Has anyone had such issues?

    Rating
    Reply
  • Art September 15th, 2015

    I just started looking into meal replacement shakes. I went to my local health market to pick up some sample size packets to see which one I like. So far, this brand is the one I like. I blended the Mixed Berry with water, ice and a cup of organic frozen strawberries, it was pretty good! Reminded me of something from Juice it up. Not too shabby.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Anne August 2nd, 2015

    I don’t usually like shakes. This one however, is not only palatable but gives me energy all day. I use half coconut milk half and half ice water. Excellent.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Anne Fox August 2nd, 2015

    Excellent. Palatable and gives me energy all day long. I mix with half coconut milk and half ice water. I don’t usually like shakes. This is one I’ll keep.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Susan July 29th, 2015

    The ingredients and taste have been updated since the 2014 review. Higher protein and other content, lower carb content and great taste!

    Rating
    Reply
  • Chasity May 24th, 2014

    A friend recommended this shake to me and though it was pretty pricey, it was cheaper than some of the others out there like Shakeology. What I really like about it is the ingredients. Many of the popular shakes out there are more just fad diets that are bulked with fillers. This shake actually has quality ingredients.

    Rating
    Reply
  • Danielle May 18th, 2014

    The only thing I don’t like about this is the price. It’s just incredibly pricey.

    Rating
    Reply
  • jwd May 9th, 2014

    Taste is an arbitrary thing, sure, but as an everyday person and a food lover, this shake tasted really bad to me. Good thing I only bought few packets to try.
    I tried twice. One time with 8 oz of coconut milk and the other half/half cold water and coconut milk. I even tried putting some splenda and a scoop of ice cream. Still, tasted gross.

    Rating
    Reply
  • bigbird May 5th, 2014

    ill stick to mcdonalds shakes

    Rating
    Reply
  • tyson May 3rd, 2014

    I bought three individual serving packets from a local store to see how I liked this before I commited. After going through them, I decided to order. The taste is awesome, especially compared to most shake mixes. It’s not gritty or chalky and has a good rich flavor. I blend it up with almond milk and drink it for breakfast and it keeps me full for at least 4 hours.

    Rating
    Reply
Top 3 Meal Replacement Shakes
2 Shakeology Shake

Shakeology Shake

3 Garden of Life Raw Meal Shake

Garden of Life Raw Meal Shake

Must Reads
4 Tasty, Cleansing Apple Cider Vinegar Weight Loss Drinks
read
6 Key Qualities of the Best Meal Replacement Shakes for Women
read
MCT Oil: Can it Really Help Me Slim Down?
read